Is it easy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default Is it easy?

I've always bought computers that were basically built for me, now I want to learn how to do it myself, so i can save a little money. I'm thinking about getting a new computer soon, with all the prices going down an all. I have experience hooking up hard drive, cd roms, memory, etc, but ive never mounted a motherboard or set the cpu in its socket, or putting in a power supply How hard is it to do?

If anyone has some websites that have walkthroughs or have any comments that would be great.

My budget is between $1000-1250.
__________________

Da11en47 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

okay, i'll be right back with a guide, somebody posted a really good one the other day, and there is one here in i think this part of the forum.. should be a sticky at the top, has pictures and everything

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=108120
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

read and do research first before you think about the parts... read the forums, look at the parts... think about what you want this system for first, and how long you want it to last... That will help determine what kind of parts you buy now... and when your ready ask your questions, and concerns... cause just like everyone else, myself included, we had doubts about what they wanted to do with a build... Congrats on a good choice to build and we're here to help...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

oh and getting back to your initial question.... yes, building a computer is incredibly easy
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well ya I just read forums and actually in tiger direct when you look up a part below the specs there is always walkthrough guides and explanations of why you need this or how this works ect. made it a lot easier to drop a grand on a box of parts LOL

and it worked out great. never buying a prebuild again.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
well ya I just read forums and actually in tiger direct when you look up a part below the specs there is always walkthrough guides and explanations of why you need this or how this works ect. made it a lot easier to drop a grand on a box of parts LOL

and it worked out great. never buying a prebuild again.
way to go. i agree
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Yes!

Build your own. DIY pride and intimate knowledge of your Rig are priceless. I swear....you will never go back.

Do your research. Use common sense. Remain grounded - use an anti-static wrist strap. If you are uncertain if your configuration is compatible, just post and many will answer.

There are frustrations, but building Rigs is like that and if you are careful and apply knowledge w/ common sense you will not be able to cause damage to your components, though sometimes RMA's will happen.

Keep us posted on your progress.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

I was reluctant to build at first but I'm glad i did. Do it-it's worth it. I used this guide to help me out: http://www.pcmech.com/byopc
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
I was reluctant to build at first but I'm glad i did. Do it-it's worth it. I used this guide to help me out: http://www.pcmech.com/byopc
thanks for that link.

anyways, you live near buffalo? thats cool so do i. im like 15 mins away fromrochester.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 12:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

wow, yeah I live about 20 mins south of Buffalo. A couple of my cousins are near Rochester, in Webster and Brockport I think.

go SABRES! <----Amazing year
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.