~Early Christmas Wish List~ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Talking ~Early Christmas Wish List~

Post ur PC wish list, and maybe the red fat-a$$ will surprise u!!

I was thinking of getting more RAM maybe another 512mb or 1gb corsair would be fine
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Only thing better I could want in my system is one of those juicy 8800GTXs (with one of those 30" Dells ). Everything else I want is non-computer related. I don't even care about receiving presents anymore, I'm more into the feel and atmosphere of Christmas. Spending time with family and g/f and all.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

I hope to stop suckling from the Athlon XP bosom and get me a nice Core 2 Duo build.
  • Core 2 Duo E6600
  • 2GB of DDR2 667 RAM
  • An Intel P965 Motherboard (Seeing how I won't be overclocking)
  • 7600GT
  • Cooler Master Centurion 5
*drool*

Think of the productivity! I think that'll run Doom (The original) at 1024x768.

I got the money too!
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Why not overclocking?
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

I was never into overclocking. I don't find a "rush" in it as much as you all do.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

There doesn't necessarily have to be a rush. I overclock my processors because they give me a lot more power for a minimal price. With my Athlon 64, I was able to have a processor that rivaled some of the fastest single-core retail home processors at the time, for $200. In the case of my Core 2 Duo, I have one of the fastest home processors on the planet For $315. If there's a rush in there somewhere, then its the realization that you've accomplished something extraordinary and with your skills, you have improved your computer immensely.

Honestly; Would you buy a processor that was meant to run at, say, 3.5Ghz and be stable, and then underclock that processor to 2.4Ghz? Because that's basically what you're doing by not overclocking.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Yes, but I'm still not convinced.

The Core 2 Duo E6600 is fast enough, I'm sure I probably wouldn't need even that much power.

Also, overclocking voids the warranty, and I have a long history of breaking CPUs (Not by overclocking), I do not want to be $300 in the hole if I do break it. (I am sort of short on cash.)

Besides, if I wanted to achieve a good overclock, I would probably have to invest $50 into a new motherboard, $50 into DDR2 800 RAM, and another $50 into a good after-market cooler.

I am probably going to need that $150 for other stuff.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

well i wanted a wide screen samsung but santa said i would have to settle for a 17", which is fine and i would have a nice sysmetrical setup with two 17" samsung lcd monitors .
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I want a whole new build. I've spent months of researching on what would be the best for my money. I think the build I put together would be almost the absolute best i could get for my money but theres still so much to learn with just small things from RAM:CPU ratios to more of advanced settings.

heres basicly what i want though

E6300 OC to about 3.2+
7900GS OC to about 7900GT speed
1GB DDr2-800 RAM right now (another stick later)
the sweet Xion Xion Xon-102 case that looks and performances awesome for only 60 bucks haha.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

We are going to Mexico for Christmas so I will have to settle for a $100 budget.

I was thinking g5 mouse, and zalman9500. this works out because later on (like 3 months after christmas) I might stick with s939 and get a opteron 175, or I might buck up to a e6600 with a new mobo, and ram. That would mean I could use the zalman on either of those boards.

THat costs about 85 so I have to figure out where the rest is going to go. Anyone have any good suggestions?
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.