E8750 vs Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2007, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default E8750 vs Q6600

hi. im building a system and im torn on what to get for my proc. this system will pretty much be used for gaming and i am torn between the faster E6850 and the slower Q6600. Any suggestions?
__________________

Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: E8750 vs Q6600

The Q6600 isn't that much slower. It's also cheaper than an E6850. So it's a no brainer.

Sure, you can overclock an E6850 further, but around the same price range or cheaper....why not get two more cores and 4mb more cache, with the Q6600?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: E8750 vs Q6600

e6850 is 3.0ghz and dual-core

q6600 is 2.4ghz and quad-core

the e6850 will perform better in current games because of its higher clock speed... but the q6600 will be better in the future since more games will be more optimized for quad-cores also why pay for the e6850 when a q6600 is cheaper and you get two more cores
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: E8750 vs Q6600

From what ive seen with the new 45nm quads coming out, the equally priced quad has less cache and roughly the same TDP so your best bet is to just get a Q6600, a good cooler and hang on to until the nehalems come out.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: E8750 vs Q6600

You can overclock the Q6600 to 3.0GHz with stock voltage. I'm not so sure about that with the stock heatsink though, maybe 2.7GHz or so with that comfortably; especially if you get the g0 stepping.

So, it's cheaper, has 2 more cores, more cache, and can OC to the stock speed of the dual core AND further with a good after market cooler. I vote Q6600.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: E8750 vs Q6600

I managed to get up to 3.15 on stock voltage. But i dont run the stock cooler. I think i have my voltage set to 1.175V in bios right now at stock speed.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about my B3 q6600 veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-10-2007 12:20 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.