E8500 vs Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2008, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default E8500 vs Q6600

We're looking at a video game angle here. Which processor would perform better in video games, and therefore, be the better option to purchase.

E8500 @ 4.2Ghz (on air) or Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz (on air)
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

the extra 600mhz arent going to make much if any difference. While the extra cores are going to help quite a bit with multithreaded games and having other programs running while you are gaming.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 08:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 80
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

In most games, at least for now, the dual core is going to defeat the quad core 95% of the time.

Currently, only a few games are optimized for quad cores and eventually all games will be.

I personally would go with the Q6600 because then you won't have to buy a new processor quite so soon but if you are looking for the best performance now, get the E8500.
Balishang is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

id say the q6600 is a better choice, he might get 5 fps better or somethin with the e8500 but it cost more and the q6600 will be better for everything else like photo editing video editing just havin more programs open at once. the q6600 is more future proof and its cheaper i would get it.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

Do some research. Its been proven that anything past around 3ghz no matter how many cores doesnt make any difference in games. Unless you are playing on a tiny monitor that is cpu bound. If you can overclock a q6600 to 3.6 stable, its going to do more for you than a dual core solely because of the amount of other programs that ALWAYS run in the background. Open your task manager, look at how many processes are running, now divide that by 2, and divide it by 4. Which one allows your cpu to use more processing power for the game you are playing.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

thats why i always recommand quads, i never tell ppl to get duals
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 02:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

that's a great point veedub, thanks. Quad is definitely the better choice
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 03:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

i've used a q6600 and q6700.... and i just got rid of the q67 for an e8500... i'll let you know how that goes
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

y? i suppose if your going to upgrade to a bloomfield or sumthin with a new build, otherwise why spend more on less?
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: E8500 vs Q6600

meh... i don't honestly think i'll notice a difference in anything i do... everything i do nowadays... is almost nothing but photoshop and things as such...

games.. ha, i don't really play em...

i wanna take my super pi record back here... lol

my processes never exceed 36 anyway.. quadcore is pretty much a waste for me... and i'm sure running something like 4.5ghz for everyday use will handle everything just fine.. and won't be any different than running my quad at 3.7/3.8

considering the dual cores(45nm penryn based cores actually) are 5-10&#37; more effiecient in most things they do.. and those most things i do.. are more than likely not multi-threaded for 4 cores anyway... i don't ever do any hardcore multi-tasking.. so i don't really care

but of course... i will be upgraded to a q9550/9650 when i feel like i need to do so



hazaaaa!!! i like my watercooling.. look at that vcore!! woot
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.