e8400 vs e4300 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2008, 10:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

thanks b1gapl youre the king of 'Building, Buying, or Upgrading High Performance PC Systems' forums.

now to newegg, and to rma my brand new patriot sticks!


*edit*
man.. i wish i came here before i spent money on those sticks :X...
now i lost 20$..

boo
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 12:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

I woudlnt count on getting an E4300 to 3.5ghz.
Realistically you'd be solid at 3.2ghz - 3.5 would require a lot of cooling, a lot of tweaking etc.

My E6400 will run at 3.6ghz but it certainly hates it. It likes 3.4 though.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
I woudlnt count on getting an E4300 to 3.5ghz.
Realistically you'd be solid at 3.2ghz - 3.5 would require a lot of cooling, a lot of tweaking etc.

My E6400 will run at 3.6ghz but it certainly hates it. It likes 3.4 though.
Yah i figure its going to take some tweaking i have my TRUE lapped and ill be sure to lap my e4300 as soon as i get it..

i might pin mod it, but i dont really see the benefits from it...especially with my p5e asus
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

i wouldn't do any pin modding

too risky..
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 08:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

e4300 can only get to 3.42 ghz. After that, performance decreases. It doesn't run so cool, either, when you run it at 2.7 ghz. However, you don't have to touch the voltage at all to get that. I would know.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 08:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
e4300 can only get to 3.42 ghz. After that, performance decreases. It doesn't run so cool, either, when you run it at 2.7 ghz. However, you don't have to touch the voltage at all to get that. I would know.
he has a lapped TRUE vs your tuniq tho
how much are you getting the e4300 for?
you could spend a few more and get an m0 e4500 (not sure on the multiplier on this tho)
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 08:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

His x38 is lga 775 right? idk if they have amd socket x38's but he was using a

Quote:
Here is my current rig:
Amd X3600 @ 3.2ghz stable
TRUE120
8800gt
Raptor 74gb
I'm guessing he knows about sockets right?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 08:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

The X38 is an Intel chipset, so it's only 775.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt
idk if they have amd socket x38's but he was using a
X38 is not a socket. It's a chipset. And no, there are no X38s for AMD.

What he's saying, is that he has an X38 motherboard, but which Intel processor should he choose.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 09:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The X38 is an Intel chipset, so it's only 775.


X38 is not a socket. It's a chipset.

Yea, i know it's not a socket, i was wondering if they have the x38 chipset for AMD, i phrased it wrong the first time.

Quote:
And no, there are no X38s for AMD.
ty that's the answer i needed :P

Quote:
What he's saying, is that he has an X38 motherboard, but which Intel processor should he choose.
I was double checking that he wasn't using his AMD socket for his new Intel build.


Someone was talking about those cheap xeon processors earlier... why not go for one of them?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: e8400 vs e4300

i say that the e8400 (if you can even buy one quick enough) will not even be close to double the performance of the 4300 (even overclocked to 4ghz versus the 4300 at say 3.3ghz), yet it costs over twice as much.
that makes it an easy answer for me there.
i vote e4300.
but, if you go with the 8400 let me know how it oc's
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the E8400 the best processor? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 53 02-22-2008 09:13 PM
new pc is up! temp problems e8400 braz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-22-2008 02:38 AM
E8400 vs Q6600? gl600 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-29-2008 04:29 PM
asus p5e and e8400 no post no video, fans spinning heartofalion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-26-2008 08:47 PM
e4300 too hot with 9500led sammytheman Overclocking and Modding 8 05-05-2007 01:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.