e8400.. mobo question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2009, 06:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 54
Default e8400.. mobo question

okay so i was wondering what mobo i would get for E8400 it has to be gigabyte or asus ** oh yeah i cant afford the AWESOMELY AWESOME mobo's just decent one that will handle 3.5 ghz+ overclocking on air, it will have a cpu cooler and antec 900 two case

im still deciding what cpu to get i was thinking of E8500 or Q6600 instead and if you reccommend either of those could you tell me what mobo i shuold get as well
__________________

skiki is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: e8400.. mobo question

You'll want a P45 chipset. Not sure how much you wanna spend on a motherboard.

Newegg.com - ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Any reason why you want to stick with Gigabyte or Asus? Biostar makes a good overclocking board too:
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

If you can afford it, go with the E8500. It has a 9.5 multiplier and will reach higher overclock compared to the E8400. It's best to stick with a dual core if you're into gaming, but a quad could be more future proof. But the Q6600 don't overclock as well as they used to. If you were to get a quad, I'd say get a Q9400/Q9450 or Q9550.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 54
Default Re: e8400.. mobo question

lol if i went with q9550 i might as well go with core i7 lol but NOO im no allowed to get it =.=""

which one would you pick out of those two if i was overclocking to 4 ghz
and is there a reason why the gigabyte one is most expensive..?

thanks !!
skiki is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: e8400.. mobo question

I'd pick the Gigabyte UD3P, it's a little more expensive. Looks like it has better chipset cooling and supports a higher ram speed of 1333.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card & Mobo question.. monagi New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-25-2008 10:31 PM
mobo Question stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-16-2008 11:08 AM
ASUS M2N SLI deluxe mobo question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-01-2007 05:02 AM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.