Is the E8400 the best processor? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2008, 09:10 PM   #31 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

for the same price id wrather have a q6600 then wait for the e8400 to com in stock theyl be relatively just as fast weather one be at 3.8ghz and the other at 4ghz. the q6600 will perfom jus tas well and be more future proof.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:13 PM   #32 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

3.8? that is pretty dag on fast for a q6600 to run 24/7. and i did 4ghz on mine with no trouble at all. a tiny voltage increase, and that is it
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:26 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

What applications support the Quad Core, the only one I use is Carbon Coder which probably most of you never heard of . And when I do use Carbon Coder I DO NOT multi-task.
__________________
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:27 PM   #34 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

i got mien stable at 3.8ghz before ive got a vid of 1.2, vdub also has a vid of 1.2 and he ran 3dmark 06 at 4.0 alltho it isnt stable, i can run stable at 3.8 im only going to do so when i lapp tho, i run at 3.7ghz right now constant. exept one of my ram sticks died. so im back at stock.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 10:45 AM   #35 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

I can run stable at 3.8, but the extra voltage needed isnt worth running it 24/7. I am perfectly stable at 3.6 and 1.4v. Also, what a lot of people dont realize is that there is a difference between "multi core optimized" and a program just not using multiple cores. Almost every program will use the multiple cores if you tell it to. Alot of programs default to only using 1-2 cores though, but if you set the affinity to all 4 cores, it will balance the load and give more performance.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 10:53 AM   #36 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

why get the e8400 when your gonna go quad anyways?
might as well get the quad now so you dont have to deal with spending more money and the hassle.

i didnt like this dual core from the beginning.
sure it runs cooler, overclocks like mad, etc etc.
In the end, the quads will always win.
Atleast i dont have to deal with upgrading for a long long time.
and now the q6600 is going for only 200 at microcenter.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:49 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
why get the e8400 when your gonna go quad anyways?
might as well get the quad now so you dont have to deal with spending more money and the hassle.

i didnt like this dual core from the beginning.
sure it runs cooler, overclocks like mad, etc etc.
In the end, the quads will always win.
Atleast i dont have to deal with upgrading for a long long time.
and now the q6600 is going for only 200 at microcenter.
Haha I will agree for 200. But e8400 everyday price is 189.
__________________
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:49 PM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I can run stable at 3.8, but the extra voltage needed isnt worth running it 24/7. I am perfectly stable at 3.6 and 1.4v. Also, what a lot of people dont realize is that there is a difference between "multi core optimized" and a program just not using multiple cores. Almost every program will use the multiple cores if you tell it to. Alot of programs default to only using 1-2 cores though, but if you set the affinity to all 4 cores, it will balance the load and give more performance.

I keep hearing talk list the programs please.
__________________
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:52 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

Any program that has more than 1 thread can be set to use all 4 cores. Lrn2setaffinity.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 01:24 PM   #40 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Is the E8400 the best processor?

I just wanted to OC the heck out of my cpu. And I didnt want to keep my e6600 anymore. and when the nehalem comes out, oh man. I cant wait.
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E8400 vs Q6600? gl600 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-29-2008 04:29 PM
Which processor to go with? CBerger New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-24-2008 01:56 PM
New processor means new harddrive too? jasonhtml New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-14-2008 07:28 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.