e8400 @ 5.0ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2008, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Exclamation e8400 @ 5.0ghz

Currently I'm on my e8400
would I see much of an increase in performance if I went to 5.0ghz?

I game mostly.


e8400 @ 3.8ghz at 1.33v
Memory is 1:2 or 2:1 .. its like 880 or something.
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsvalesen View Post
Currently I'm on my e8400 at 1.25v at 4.0ghz stable, for the most part.

Would I see much of an increase in performance if I went to 5.0ghz?

I game mostly.
With what card?
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

What kind of cooling do you have? What temperatures are you at now? It's gonna be awful hard to get a 2 ghz OC.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

Alright I made a mistake. This is the real current settings I'm on:

e8400 @ 3.8ghz at 1.33v
Memory is 1:2 or 2:1 .. its like 880 or something.

My cooling is a TRUE120, and my temps right now are 30C IDLE.

I have a p5e motherboard with Gskill (4gb) NQ Ram.
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsvalesen View Post
Alright I made a mistake. This is the real current settings I'm on:

e8400 @ 3.8ghz at 1.33v
Memory is 1:2 or 2:1 .. its like 880 or something.

My cooling is a TRUE120, and my temps right now are 30C IDLE.

I have a p5e motherboard with Gskill (4gb) NQ Ram.
What card do you have?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

What Video Card as Benny has said two times...

But maybe.. if you can actually get there... Nosboost is a guru OC'er and can't do it even with Water Cooling
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

You cant hit 5ghz on air.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

66.7% Overclock is like impossible even on such a great air Cooler..

Well unless it was like at really really slow!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

The E8600 is the only CPU that can hit 5GHz on air.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 07:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Talking Re: e8400 @ 5.0ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
What card do you have?
I have an 8800gt, sorry I for some reason didnt catch your question. haha.

well it looks like I'm at a standstill..

I hit 4.0 with 1.38 Volts
NB = 1.37v
Ram = 1.9v @ 880 MHZ

Since the e8400 chip apparently degrades 10-fold when over 1.3625 volts, I decided to just keep it at as low as possible.

As of right now I'm idling 31C @ 3.8 1.31v


With all of this being said I have a few questions:

I discovered something called a 'vdroop' (im still new at oc.) Well when I set my volts to 1.38 for instance, when I restart and go back into bios in 'Hardware monitoring' It's idling at a 1.31 volts. My motherboard is a p5e with the 602 bios update.



I really want to go further than 3.8 safely, does anyone know a way I can do that? Temperature for sure is NOT holding me back, (unless bios is wrong, can anyone recommend a program? Everest isn't showing it.) the only thing I believe is holding me back is my CPU volts.



I'd really love some help, and if anyone can help me reach 4.0 or even 4.5ghz It'd be well appreciated.
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E6600 vs E8400 vs Q6600 and OC? Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 10-24-2008 03:46 AM
worth getting a e8500 or just e8400 stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-12-2008 07:21 AM
p35-DS3R and e8400? Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-15-2008 12:42 AM
Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400?? mattchew13 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-04-2008 09:41 PM
e8400 vs e4300 andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-28-2008 01:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.