e6750 vs. q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2008, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default e6750 vs. q6600

I'm thinking about upgrading (is it really?) from an e6750 to a q6600. Is this an up- or downgrade? I'm a gamer and don't use photoshop or any CAD programs, hence why I'm questioning the q6600, but my e6750 has kinda been sluggish lately. Let me know what you think...
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

You wouldn't notice any difference if you don't do encoding or rendering things....

Your e6750 shouldn't feel slow...something else is the problem.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

maybe your video card? switch it to the new 8800 gts g92 or 8800 gt g92
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
HD 4870 512mb OC'd @ 780/1090
Crucial Ballistix 2gb (2 sided)
Gigabyte P45 DS3L
Sunbeam CPU cooler
Antec 300
Logitech z-2300
Mx 518
Seagate 500gb HDD
Corsair 620HX
Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

Do you multitask? Do you have lots of other programs running while you are gaming? If so, a quad would be a step up. I know i'll never go back to anything less than 4 cores.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

you have a high 3dmark score, it shouldn't seem slow
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

I don't think it would be an upgrade, 3.84 is a huge OC, you wouldn't get near that with an q6600. You would probably get like 3.0 or something. I have an e6750, but I got it because I don't usually have more than 3 or 4 things open, and I don't really play any quad optimized games or use quad optimized video codecs, making it useless for me. It probably depends a little on what you will be using it for, but the money you lose off this transaction would almost certainly make it not worth it. (even if it was only like $10, IMO)
__________________
Specs:
e6750 @ 3.3
OCZ platinum rev. 2 @ 830, 1x500gb, 1x250gb, 1x80gb hdd's.
BFG 7900gs
Antec ea430
CM rc 534 (with side window)
ASUS p5k- vm
jakebrick is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

in encoding the q6600 would certainly help..

check for spyware though
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

if your gonna get a new core just for gaming. go with e8400 if you can find one. (make sure your motherboard supports the new 45nm architecture! It should though. But i would spend the money on a 9600gt instead or even better just wait till the 9800's come out. Or just get the 9600gt and use the step up program by evga!
harnar123 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 04:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakebrick View Post
I don't think it would be an upgrade, 3.84 is a huge OC, you wouldn't get near that with an q6600. You would probably get like 3.0 or something. I have an e6750, but I got it because I don't usually have more than 3 or 4 things open, and I don't really play any quad optimized games or use quad optimized video codecs, making it useless for me. It probably depends a little on what you will be using it for, but the money you lose off this transaction would almost certainly make it not worth it. (even if it was only like $10, IMO)
Actually there's a good chance of getting 3.8ghz on a q6600 if he has a good cooler.

More like 3.4-3.6 though
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 10:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: e6750 vs. q6600

I can run stable at 3.8ghz on my q6600, but the difference in performance over 3.6ghz isnt worth it for the extra heat and voltage required to get stable at 3.8.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
E6750 vs E6600 njypa New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-15-2007 05:02 PM
just realized, the Q6600 is $80 bucks more than the E6750 Sirius_GTO New Systems | Building and Buying 21 08-23-2007 04:45 PM
E6750 benchmarks !!! maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-26-2007 09:19 PM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.