E6600 --> Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2008, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default E6600 --> Q6600

I have a Conroe E6600 now and was thinking about installing Vista 64 and putting in a Q6600. I am running XP now and I need to format and clean up and was thinking of selling off the E6600 duel and going with a quad core. I multitask quite a bit so I should see quite a bit improvements I would think. What do you guys think?
__________________

w-r-g is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

as long as the motherboard supports the Q6600 go for it

just thought i would i would ask what is your system spec's i.e motherboard type, hdd ect
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

P5W DH Deluxe, I have a couple Raptors in Raid 0 , 8800 GTS, actually I have a E6700 clocked to ~3.4ghz presently.
w-r-g is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

well i don't see any problems with trading up to the Q6600
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 12:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

I love my q6600. I actually started out with an e6600 and returned it for the q6600.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

what type of gts? 512 or 640 or 320?
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
as long as the motherboard supports the Q6600 go for it

just thought i would i would ask what is your system spec's i.e motherboard type, hdd ect
Wrong, the Q6600 was a very good processor but I hate to admit it is becoming outdated due to the 45nm architecture release. The e8400 is the processor that everyone is now looking at for future builds (besides those 45nm quad extreme $1000 processors for rich guys). The e8400 is in most terms faster than the Q6600, even though its a dual core it still beats the Q6600. Reason why is the programs and operating systems don't take advantage of 4 cores yet, but most take full advantage of dual cores.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

You can easily overclock the Q6600 to E8400 speeds. The p5w DH deluxe is an older motherboard so I'm not sure how well it would do with the high FSB necessary to overclock the E8400.

Also, I'm not sure if the p5w dh actually supports 45nm processors, though it will support the Q6600 with a BIOS update.
Gustave5436 is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 05:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustave5436 View Post
You can easily overclock the Q6600 to E8400 speeds. The p5w DH deluxe is an older motherboard so I'm not sure how well it would do with the high FSB necessary to overclock the E8400.

Also, I'm not sure if the p5w dh actually supports 45nm processors, though it will support the Q6600 with a BIOS update.
overclock the q6600 to e8400 speeds... sure.. stock. you can get the e8400 up past 4ghz no problem. do that with a q6600 (for 24/7 with hardly an vcore increase)
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 06:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: E6600 --> Q6600

I run my q6600 at 3.6ghz 24/7 and i'm willing to put money on it that i get way more performance from that than i would from a 4ghz e8400. If you do any sort of multitasking, a q6600 is going to blow away a dual core. And games are only going to start using multicores more and more.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
e6600 equals q6600? nu2duo Overclocking and Modding 11 10-06-2007 02:16 PM
Q6600 vs E6600 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 39 09-13-2007 01:37 AM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
E6600 or Q6600 for my needs E6600 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-04-2007 02:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.