e6600 build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2006, 08:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default e6600 build

So this is what i have in mind:

MOBO: Gigabyte DS3
HD: Seagate 160GB 7200rpm
RAM: Corsair XMS2 (2x512) DDR2 800
PS: Antec TPII 550W
GPU: XFX 7600GT
LCD: Samsung 205BW 20" Widescreen

and of course my e6600!

I'm not sure if i'll go with the Samsung LCD, but i'll get a new moniter for sure. Any suggestions?
Also, any thoughts on the DFI Infinity as an alternate mobo?
__________________

sLevin is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

well, your 6600 is kinda overkill compred to your other parts, i dotn know if you had to shave off some quality of others to afford the 6600
theres a $199 19 widescreen 5ms i think at tigerdirect
cant comment on a c2d mobo havent read anything of in depth about them

but it looks ok..
with 6600, 2 gigs of ram would kill....(g.skillz!)
i would look at a raptor hdd too, if you dont need much space

myself, if i made a new conroe set, i would make a qpack with a micro atx mobo, midtowers are too big, its nice to be small, though you lose the quality bios and cooling of a full atx biuld
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

A E6600 and a 7600GT will go fine together and will not be bottlenecked at all.... More ram woudnt hurt... And going for DDR2 800 is a good idea... Run em in dual channel and you will get 12.8 Gb/s
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

im just saying price wise, a 6600 is much more hgihend than a 7600gt, but if hes upgrading REAL soon to dx10 then its worth it
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

thanks guys.

Yea the e6600 is kinda the diamond of the system, but i figured with its higher o/c'ing it would have more upgradability than the 6400 or the 6300. And since these cards aren't built for dx10, i didn't want to spend a bundle on a dx9 just yet. I'm still considering going with 2gb ram. I definately will if i lose the lcd.

Of course then it's back to my old standby......hello 15"


btw: I see the raptors are pretty popular. Is the 10k rpm worth it? It looks like they cose around 4x more.
sLevin is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

10k rpm is just faster load times...and a little more noise then the common 7200rpm.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

How come when I load this page I get prompted to enter username and password for jeff?


__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

wow i thought that was only me idk who the **** is jeff?
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea me too...spyware?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

weird:freak:
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.