is the E6400 worth the $50 over E6300? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 05:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default is the E6400 worth the $50 over E6300?

hey i'm gonna be building a computer for my friend and i wanted to know what to go w/ i can either get the E6300 w/ a HSF or the E6400 w/o one...that's just because of the budget he's on.

anyways the case i'm gonna get for him w/ it is an Xclio case with a 25cm fan in the side pulling in air right over the mobo and then a 120mm in front pulling in and another in back for exhaust.

^i included that in case you guys think that would be enough cooling. He said he'd wanna OC it later but would be fine w/o OCing it for at least 1/2 a year.

what you guys think?
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

i could also fit both the 120mm in back as see how that works out too
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Umm, no HSF? They come stock with them (well I would think they should) if you do not have a HSF say hello to Mr. Fried Processor. If you cannot get a HSF (if it comes with a stock one don't wortry about this post) then get the one you can get the HSF with since you will fry it in about 5 seconds.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

If you're OC'ing get the e6300, if not get the e6400, and dear god don't power up any system when a CPU doesn't have a HSF, it'll fry >_<
__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

i think he's talking about OEM? and you need a hsf so just get the cpu that comes with one otherwise it'll be another 20-30 on top of the e6400
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

haha. sorry i meant an aftermarket one that'd make up the difference...and i might not get AS5 if i don't get him an aftermarket HSF either.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

but i would probably go for an OEM if they had it for 30+ cheaper. then just get a HSF for it.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 10:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

Isn't the ONLY difference between the two processors the clock speed? If so, you'd be stupid to spent the extra $50.
Khann is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 10:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

The 6400 has a x8 multiplier, and 6300 only x7, so a bit faster clock speed and an extra multiplier for OCing.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Drizo
The 6400 has a x8 multiplier, and 6300 only x7, so a bit faster clock speed and an extra multiplier for OCing.
oh yeah? thanks. i'd heard something about the E6400 overclocking better but didn't know specifics. that helps me out a little.

so with that info what do you guys think? and how much of a difference will that make in OCing?

how far do you guys think i'd be able to OC w/ a E6400 with C4L DDR2-800 OCZ ram and a DS3 mobo?
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.