E6300 in stock - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 01:52 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tox1cThreat
I dont know, I'll look around for an officail word.

It seems that the only thing they can agree on is that allendale is conroe with half the cache. This is why it could be considered the same AND different, seems like theyre interchangable. Basically it all comed down to the idea of Core2Duo. Conroe and Allendalr (or Conroe/Allendale or ConroeDale or AllenRoe, whatever) are all Core2 Duo, adn thats what the "OFFICIAL" branding is, "Conroe" adn "Allendale" arejsut code/core names. I vote that theyre the same as there is no physical/archetectual difference, just the amount of memory.

As far as comparing it to a celeron/pentium scheme, its DEFINETLY NOT like that..


Its odd though, they are the same, but theyre not.. It really doesnt make a difference though, we all know what they are.
There is no official word out, that I can find, about Allendale. Intel has not mentioned anything about Allendale during the recent Core 2 Duo releases. That is one of the other things that draws me to believe that Conroe and Allendale are 2 completely seperate cores. I believe they will be like the Celeron-to-Pentium ratio (Only, Allendale will probably perform well). Allendale will be a stripped down version of Conroe. The information I have found is very little.
http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/12/...red/page4.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Core_2#Allendale

However, the more important information, is that Intel has not mentioned Allendale on the Core 2 Duo release. We won't know until we get official word from Intel.

Quote:
Originally posted by wtk pro l
Meroms are the T7xx series of Conroes or the mobile Conroes.
Sorry, I had to pick at this. Merom is the basis for ALL Core 2 models. Conroe, Allendale, Woodcrest, etc. are all based upon Merom's design model.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 03:24 PM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

ohwell, not like it matters they are both great cpus im sure
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 05:45 PM   #43 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

*shrug* as I said, I just saw a price breakdown and it mentioned cores and it stated EE6600 and up were Conroe cores and below were allendales *shrug*
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 06:16 PM   #44 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
There is no official word out, that I can find, about Allendale. Intel has not mentioned anything about Allendale during the recent Core 2 Duo releases. That is one of the other things that draws me to believe that Conroe and Allendale are 2 completely seperate cores. I believe they will be like the Celeron-to-Pentium ratio (Only, Allendale will probably perform well). Allendale will be a stripped down version of Conroe. The information I have found is very little.
http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/12/...red/page4.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Core_2#Allendale

However, the more important information, is that Intel has not mentioned Allendale on the Core 2 Duo release. We won't know until we get official word from Intel.



Sorry, I had to pick at this. Merom is the basis for ALL Core 2 models. Conroe, Allendale, Woodcrest, etc. are all based upon Merom's design model.
????
cedjunior is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 06:58 PM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
*shrug* as I said, I just saw a price breakdown and it mentioned cores and it stated EE6600 and up were Conroe cores and below were allendales *shrug*
thats what i heard
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:01 PM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default



hate to say i told you so
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:05 PM   #47 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

You go on the screenshots buddy! WOOT!

Hmm, my CPU-Z states my core is Toledo (3800+) which I heard it is not suppose to be. *shrug*
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:07 PM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
You go on the screenshots buddy! WOOT!

Hmm, my CPU-Z states my core is Toledo (3800+) which I heard it is not suppose to be. *shrug*
errrg that sucks
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:08 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx


hate to say i told you so
I have seen that before. It's at X-Bit labs. But this still does not account for Intel not saying a single thing about Allendale at launch. That's what is really bothering me.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:09 PM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
I have seen that before. It's at X-Bit labs. But this still does not account for Intel not saying a single thing about Allendale at launch. That's what is really bothering me.
hmmm, who knows?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.