E6300 in stock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 03:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Hmm, I may be misunderstanding something, but on a chart I saw on these forms it listed the Conroe core as ONLY being inside the E6600 and higher models, the lower ones had some other core, however they all say Core 2 Duo. Are they still the same conroe, or does anything lower than the E6600 perform less than it should?
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Hmm, I may be misunderstanding something, but on a chart I saw on these forms it listed the Conroe core as ONLY being inside the E6600 and higher models, the lower ones had some other core, however they all say Core 2 Duo. Are they still the same conroe, or does anything lower than the E6600 perform less than it should?
im not sure but i saw that too,

i think its the "alendale" core that the lower conroes support, i dont know what this would mean though
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm, i guess you could say the allendale is your new celeron?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

^ sort of. The Allendale is used in the lower end Conroes. "Conroe" is juse the codename for the Core2Duo technology. Since the Allendale (low end) models have the same new features and advancements as the higher end chips, they are still considered Conroes. The only real difference is the amount of on die cache, 4Mb for the high end, 2Mb for the low end.

As far as comparing Allendale to Celeron as E6600+ to Pentiums, no. The Celerons have different archetectures than the Pentium. All the Core2Duos (conroes) have the same archetecture.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
hrmm, i guess you could said the allendale is your new celeron?
well put.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
well put.
haha.. no, not well put... i caught my gramatical error!! hahaha.. changed "said" to "say" hah.. i looked at it and thought i was stupid..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
haha.. no, not well put... i caught my gramatical error!! hahaha.. changed "said" to "say" hah.. i looked at it and thought i was stupid..
who cares, we know what you meant lol
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
im not sure but i saw that too,

i think its the "alendale" core that the lower conroes support, i dont know what this would mean though
Yeah. E6300 and E6400 are Allendale, which is the same architecture as Conroe, but with 2MB of cache instead of 4MB like the E6600 and above.
Orayn is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Do my posts NOT show up on anyones computer?

I JUST said, not even 5 posts ago that the Allendales are Conroes with half the L2 Cache.....


__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 08:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

**** allendale. i was a ****ing conroe :P
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.