e6300 overclocking motherboard and ram - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2006, 06:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Ste: well I guess I just want to see how my P5B Deluxe compares to its cheaper brother. Stupid uber-looking black PCB made me fall for that mobo lol.

j369852147412: the DS3 is an excellent overclocker, according to the reviews I've read (I can look up the links when I get home if you want).

As for RAM, why do you want a single module? Two modules will allow you to use a dual channel configuration, where memory bandwidth is dramatically increased.

Concerninc OCing RAM, there's not too much difference between the good brands: Corsair, OCZ, gSkill. Mushkin, Crucial... any will do. Be sure to get at least DDR2-800 though, since it will give you more room for overclocking. A low latency (CL4) might be nice, too, but they're a bit more expensive.

Finally, 1GB should be enough. Unless an app is using almost all available RAM, it won't really limit your OC, and pardon me for saying so, bzflag. Go test it out: run your favorite game, then ALT+TAB out of it, open the resource manager and check how much RAM is being used. Most of the time you'll see around 700MB - 800MB (half from Windows+background apps, half from the game). If you're on a tight budget, buy 1GB now, and upgrade to 2GB in a few months.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 07:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

my computer will be mostly for gaming and buring dvd's and stuff and probably some photoshop once in a while. i want 1x1gb because i will probably get another gig of ram when i get enough money. so i will not mind 1gb of ram right now but soon i will upgrade to 2 gb. i will overclock so i will need ram that will overclock well and ram that is stable.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:50 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quoting myself:

Concerninc OCing RAM, there's not too much difference between the good brands: Corsair, OCZ, gSkill, Mushkin, Crucial... any will do. Be sure to get at least DDR2-800 though, since it will give you more room for overclocking. A low latency (CL4) might be nice, too, but they're a bit more expensive.

Just go to newegg and find something that fits your budget.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.