E4300 vs. X2 4200+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2008, 06:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

Just to say, the e4300 is better clock for clock than the e2200. Its got more cache, and at the same frequency it will have a bigger FSB. Even though its an old revision, they still clock like mad.

Also, seeing as though you wont gain a massive amount of performance, you could just stick with your current setup until you can afford the Quad and performance mobo together, and buy them then. There will invariably be better motherboards out then (X48, P45) and you could get a cheaper quad aswell (Q6600 possible price drop, 45NMs will be pretty cheap)

Just a thought.
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 10:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

if I can find a Q6600 for $200 online (not in store), then I can get it with the mobo now...

and btw, do you guys think its worth it going to x38 to get pci 2.0? I'll be using this board for a really long time...
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 10:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post

and btw, do you guys think its worth it going to x38 to get pci 2.0? I'll be using this board for a really long time...
If you're planning to use a board for a very long time, then get a board that is as future proof as possible. You might want to wait for the X48s.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 11:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
if I can find a Q6600 for $200 online (not in store), then I can get it with the mobo now...

and btw, do you guys think its worth it going to x38 to get pci 2.0? I'll be using this board for a really long time...
might want to wait for x48, p45, and g45 boards
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 01:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

x48 is going to be ddr3, there is no point waiting on them even when theyl be released ddr3 is still mad $$$, and the x48 is just the top x38 chips. i dotn see a point in waiting, save soem cash get something liek a maximus formula or the abit quad gt or a dfi board if you would like that is x38 and get a q6600.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 02:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
x48 is going to be ddr3, there is no point waiting on them even when theyl be released ddr3 is still mad $$$, and the x48 is just the top x38 chips. i dotn see a point in waiting, save soem cash get something liek a maximus formula or the abit quad gt or a dfi board if you would like that is x38 and get a q6600.
You're actually right. I forgot about that aspect of the chipset. So it's positive that they won't be making DDR2 versions? That would be a horrible decision not to though. I read some rumors, but they're just rumors.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 02:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
You're actually right. I forgot about that aspect of the chipset. So it's positive that they won't be making DDR2 versions? That would be a horrible decision not to though. I read some rumors, but they're just rumors.
it seems that the X48 is another minor upgrade? they are ramping the memory speeds from 1800 to 2000 though... and you get that Intel Extreme Tuning Utility or w/e

so... I think I might pass over an X38, it seems that its not much better and actually sometimes worse when using a DDR2 board

Supposedly overclocking is slightly better, but $70 seems a big price increase for some measly changes

@ amd

I'd really like to try a DFI board, the bios seems incredible and would be a lot of fun. Not to mention the board itself is sexy lol.

If anything, I'd go find a board with the nice reset cmos button on the IO panel and the two power and reset buttons on the actual motherboard, but I'll stick with DFI
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 02:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

if you do plan on going x38, look at the abit quad gt. Great board, with cmos reset switch and reset and power on buttons on the mobo. Cant go wrong. it is 220 at newegg I think

Newegg.com - ABIT IX38 Quad GT LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 02:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup
If anything, I'd go find a board with the nice reset cmos button on the IO panel and the two power and reset buttons on the actual motherboard, but I'll stick with DFI
The DFI motherboard that you posted earlier, does not have a reset CMOS button, but it does have a clear CMOS jumper pin at the back of the motherboard, beside the rear USB ports.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 03:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: E4300 vs. X2 4200+

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The DFI motherboard that you posted earlier, does not have a reset CMOS button, but it does have a clear CMOS jumper pin at the back of the motherboard, beside the rear USB ports.
yeah I noticed that too

but beggars cant be choosers :snob:

wow and bam, while I was typing I also realized what you meant about the jumper pin in the IO panel, and thank god, thats just as good

anyways, PCI 2.0 doesn't seem to be a pressing upgrade for a few years since current graphics cards can't max out their bandwidth in 16x slots... thus 32x seems to be a good 2 years minimum away and I won't be buying that high tier tech anyways
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock? jonny_uk Overclocking and Modding 42 09-18-2007 09:49 AM
Opteron 165 vs C2D E4300 commandercup Overclocking and Modding 7 09-17-2007 10:51 PM
what's the deal with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E4300 EricB Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-09-2007 08:35 PM
Dell Dimension 4200 for sale Osiris Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 06-15-2007 12:06 AM
e4300 too hot with 9500led sammytheman Overclocking and Modding 8 05-05-2007 01:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.