DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2007, 10:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

What's the exact difference?

DX10 Image http://www.crysis-online.com/Media/S...Waves-DX10.jpg

DX9 Image
http://www.crysis-online.com/Media/S...-Waves-DX9.jpg
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

HDR-brighter
trees look more detailed
rock has real depth to it
surface of water is much more detailed
several extra trees on far left middle
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
HDR-brighter
trees look more detailed
rock has real depth to it
surface of water is much more detailed
several extra trees on far left middle
I say the water is the biggest difference and everything underneath it you can see.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
I say the water is the biggest difference and everything underneath it you can see.
water has depth and crests, "waves"
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
water has depth and crests, "waves"
Ya I say that is the biggest difference.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
Ya I say that is the biggest difference.
i agree
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

Little things like this mean a lot in a game to me though...

I don't have DX10 yet, but I'm looking forward to it on my next build!
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

The HDR lighting is the largest difference...its the new SM shader that is doing it.

However is it just me or does the DX10 screen need some Anti-Aliasing?
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

Well Crysis doesn't handle AA very well, not sure why though, I've heard something about it having it's own method or something, but it's SLOOOWWW and tiny leaves still look bad
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: DX10 vs. DX9 vs. DX10.1

DX10.1 is an improvement on AA n a better shader model, 4.1.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Games using either DX10 vs DX9 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 08-25-2007 11:15 PM
The first DX10 benchmarks maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-16-2007 02:53 PM
Lost Planet DX10 Demo Osiris PC Gaming 0 05-16-2007 12:31 PM
dx10 lost planet benchmarks macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-14-2007 07:38 PM
After midrange DX10 cards come out... mrfluffles New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-07-2007 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.