DX10+Vista Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2007, 09:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default DX10+Vista Questions

Hi. I am going to upgrade to a DX10 compatable system very soon (8800GTS 320 or 640) and I am wondering about some things I've heard about DX10. Will a game in DX10 be much slower than the same game in DX9? Does DX10 even look that much better and is it worth it? Does Vista have a serious affect on game speed (Ive heard that it can reduce fps by up to 40%)? I will be thankful for any help you guys can give as it might affect wheter or not I get vista on my new system.

BTW I am also wondering when the new Nvidia 9000 series is coming out.
__________________

Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheeseking25 View Post
Hi. I am going to upgrade to a DX10 compatable system very soon (8800GTS 320 or 640) and I am wondering about some things I've heard about DX10. Will a game in DX10 be much slower than the same game in DX9? Does DX10 even look that much better and is it worth it? Does Vista have a serious affect on game speed (Ive heard that it can reduce fps by up to 40%)? I will be thankful for any help you guys can give as it might affect wheter or not I get vista on my new system.

BTW I am also wondering when the new Nvidia 9000 series is coming out.

Let me address that Vista may lower your performance a bit but it is no where near 40%...i wouldn't get it just yet not because of the lower performance but because of the bugs. Dx10 features have a bit of extra eyecandy to them but I don't think they look that much better really. Also I highly suggest a 2900PRO over the 8800GTS as they are better for the money...proven benchmarks that they are better and they have only just came out.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

As for DX10 I find that an old 2003 game actually runs far better and sees far fewer crashes in Vista then seen with XP. DX9 can also be installed on Vista when certain games require that during installation. All Direct X is is a set of 3D rendering and support for special audio effects used by Windows.

What many complain is thinking things run slower in Vista may be far from correct there. A new feature called SuperFetch remembers the games and apps that you frequently use and puts them in a form of standby mode for faster loading. That frees more memory up for those if you have antivirus and other background services that would otherwise bring things to a crawl in XP.

This is basically the MS description found at Windows Vista: Features Explained: SuperFetch

Some additional footnotes on Vista are seen at Windows Vista Footnotes
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

9 series is rumored in november, but not for sure confirmed

im guesssing the fps lower is because vista is more of a system hog then xp.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

u mean g92? thats now 8800gt
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

Yea there will not be a 9 series that soon...the G92 will stay 8 series.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

As for vista, idc what anyoen says. I've been running vista ultimate 32bit for nearly two months and have seen 1 minor bug, and IE crashed twice. I love it. Game fps hasnt changed much from xp. Dropped maybe 5 frames. If you have 2gb ddr2 ram you probably wont notice any. I've got 1g pc3200. (though I can't run aero, no biggie). Watch a few World in Conflict stage demos on gamespot for dx10 effects. IMO its worth it and looks **** nice.
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
As for vista, idc what anyoen says. I've been running vista ultimate 32bit for nearly two months and have seen 1 minor bug, and IE crashed twice. I love it. Game fps hasnt changed much from xp. Dropped maybe 5 frames. If you have 2gb ddr2 ram you probably wont notice any. I've got 1g pc3200. (though I can't run aero, no biggie). Watch a few World in Conflict stage demos on gamespot for dx10 effects. IMO its worth it and looks **** nice.
I try to inch out every FPS i can out of my system and 5 FPS sounds like a hit I would be mad at....
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 10:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

can somebody please clarify what all IMPORTANT attributes that ultimate has to be worth the extra $100 over premium :/
thats good hardware $$$$$
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: DX10+Vista Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
can somebody please clarify what all IMPORTANT attributes that ultimate has to be worth the extra $100 over premium :/
thats good hardware $$$$$
here r the extras:

Windows DreamScene, an Extra that enables you to use looped, full-motion video as your desktop wallpaper instead of a static image

Windows Hold’em, a poker game for players of all skill levels

Language packs for Windows multi-language interface, where users can install and use multiple languages on a single PC. Great for multi-lingual households or if you are learning a new language.

Secure Online Key Backup, where Ultimate users can store their BitLocker recovery password and Encrypting File System certificate on Windows Marketplace’s Digital Locker website for access to the key anytime, anyplace, and from any computer that has an Internet connection

BitLocker Drive Preparation Tool, an automated tool which removes the complexity of setting up your PC to use this exclusive data security feature.

here is what's included in Windows Vista Ultimate. It's like the premium n business had a baby called Ultimate:

Windows Vista: Compare Editions
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some vista questions anvir Microsoft Windows and Software 7 08-23-2007 05:17 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista & DX10. augest Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-14-2007 02:45 AM
Questions for my new PC: Vista mostly veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 11:56 PM
If i get vista, should i get DX10 card? spartan1121 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-05-2007 05:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.