DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2007, 10:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
i believe you mean ln2

and why not ln2 gpu's as well.. ln2 is much colder than dry ice...

and screw ln2 systems.. that'll only last you a few minutes.. then you gotta keep filling the dewer... only good for suicide record kinda runs

go w/ some phase change... not as big a hastle.. and can still keep a system at something like 4.7 ghz daily!
l2n ln2 same thing lol yes i know dry ice isn't nearly as cold as nitro but still there both ****ing cold so i dont care lol
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 10:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
SP1 is just a rollup update. So most of SP1 has already been released >.> runs fine for me. yeah theres a bit of a slowdown with DX10 but slowign down from 60-50fps is pointless. now for crysis where youre tryign to squeeze as much fps as possibly xp is probably the better choice. but id still rather look at the dx10 myself. all opinion though, if you have to run it on low just for it to be playable then dx10 is pointless.
cysis is actually supposed to run better on Vista and DX10. I have played the demo on both xp pro and vista home premium (32 bit) and I got the about the same framerate (~20 average) on both at 1680x1050 res and XP settings: All high AA 16 and Vista settings: All very high AA none. Now those aren't really comparable settings but maybe this will give an idea of what you can expect out of your system on crysis.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 10:34 PM   #23 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
cysis is actually supposed to run better on Vista and DX10. I have played the demo on both xp pro and vista home premium (32 bit) and I got the about the same framerate (~20 average) on both at 1680x1050 res and XP settings: All high AA 16 and Vista settings: All very high AA none. Now those aren't really comparable settings but maybe this will give an idea of what you can expect out of your system on crysis.
Surprisingly... That's not too bad of frame rates for a game that isn't suppose to be playable on todays hardware with high settings. Granted you have a very nice computer.
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 10:45 PM   #24 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

you have a qx6700 amd a gtx and you only scored 12591 on 3dmark 06 thats very odd you should have scored much higher then that
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 12:49 AM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

will a thermalright extreme fit in a 900 case? i have one in my Cooler master stacker and i have to take off one of the fans to close my door. Btw nice choice on the maximus, i currently have my CPU @3.5ghz without even breaking a sweat, gonna push it too 3.8ghz soon
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 01:15 AM   #26 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
will a thermalright extreme fit in a 900 case? i have one in my Cooler master stacker and i have to take off one of the fans to close my door. Btw nice choice on the maximus, i currently have my CPU @3.5ghz without even breaking a sweat, gonna push it too 3.8ghz soon
Yessums, she'll fit. I just won't be able to use the side fan. Seems worth it. .
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 01:37 AM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

it will be, you'll be impressed at how high you'll be able to clock your CPU
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 07:35 AM   #28 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
you have a qx6700 amd a gtx and you only scored 12591 on 3dmark 06 thats very odd you should have scored much higher then that
i think APE got 12k with 8800gts 640mb and q6600
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 08:32 AM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
you have a qx6700 amd a gtx and you only scored 12591 on 3dmark 06 thats very odd you should have scored much higher then that
i dont' think he overclocks.... stock score is about 11,000.. so if he did oc... it ain't alot
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 10:28 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: DX10? Time for a gaming PC! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
you have a qx6700 amd a gtx and you only scored 12591 on 3dmark 06 thats very odd you should have scored much higher then that
I was actually surprised about it too. I asked B1gapl about it once and he said it sounded normal, but I don't know. I got that score awhile back so I think I'm going to run it again.

Nosboost: If you look at my sig, you will notice that I do OC. cpu @3.3 and GTX @ 620/1000 and my HZ's are at 1100
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
DX10 Gaming Raze664 General Gaming 7 10-27-2007 01:23 PM
New DX10 gaming benchmarks from tomshardware maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 10-11-2007 08:25 PM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM
Gaming computer with home theater? Pepsiboy700 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-13-2007 09:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.