DVI or VGA? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2007, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default DVI or VGA?

Just wondering with most modern LCD wide screen/and non wide screen monitors do they use DVI or VGA? Is there much of a visual differance?

Gabb is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: DVI or VGA?


(post must be at least 5 characters indeed?)

joshd is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

Theres not that much of a visual difference. I have used both, and it's not really noticeable. But DVI would be the one to use, since it's the newer technology for LCDs.


b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 07:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

Most can use both. DVI is more noticeable in higher quality monitors and can support higher resolutions. For professional work(video, photo, 3D...), DVI is the way to go but for an average consumer display it will be barely noticeable.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 07:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

to the mainstream consumer, dvi and vga give off the same visual quality
so no

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
baron5's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

i have also used both to notice nothing. but i had to go with dvi since gtx has dual dvi no vga. i dun like the sence of using converters feels wierd lol
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

it depends on the cable length an resolution needed.......................... VGA degrades over time whilst DVI doesn't so having a vga monitor on a 10metre long cable going around the room then there will be a poorer quality picture at the end of vga and perfect image quality on the DVI. It is perverse though as most tv's that have a "pc input" it is vga but your more likely to trail a cable further to a tv then plugging it in a monitor where the distance is negligible.
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
gurusan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

yeah it really has most to do with cable length IMO. For standard cable lengths there's no noticeable difference. I've used both and can tell 0 difference whatsoever.
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

dvi is techinally better, and is newer, but is there really a difference
khan008 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: DVI or VGA?

wait is it true that geforce 8 cards only have dvi ports and no vga? Eh I dont like converters either...

Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.