Dvi - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2007, 10:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Dvi

Hi guys...

Can someone please explain this :

The DVI to DVI cable that came with my new display is missing some pins (Some in the middle, and under and over the little flat pin. I have noticed this since the DVI to Analogue transformers that come with the ATI card have all their pins... Is this normal? I wont loose any performance from the card if i use the dvi to dvi that came with my display right? Are those extra pins needed because of the transofrmation from analoge to dvi?

thanks
__________________

AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 10:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Dvi

Hello,

There are different types of DVI. The type will depend on how many, and the formation of the pins on the DVI connector:

__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Dvi

this is the dvi that comes with my display (and im currently using to connect my display with the card :



This is the kind of connector to be put on the analogue cable (that came with the card)



if i use the first one it doesnt matter right?
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Dvi

Hello,

Looking at the formation and number of the pins, the DVI cable that comes with your display is a DVI Single Link, digital signal cable. Therefore, this indicates that you have an LCT TFT digital monitor. Many of the early LCD TFT monitors are analogue, with only a VGA connection.

If you were to use the DVI to VGA connector, and use a VGA cable instead to hook up your monitor to the graphics card, then the signal can only be analogue, since VGA is an analogue cable.

You'll want to use the DVI cable, because it will send signals to the monitor in digital format, which is better than analogue in terms of quality.

Wikipedia has a detailed article about Digital Visual Interface if you want to find out more.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Dvi

SO using the one that came with my display is ok from the graphic card's point of view right?
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 11:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Dvi

Hello,

Yep it's perfectly fine :happy:.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 11:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Dvi

Thanks for the help Alvin
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 12:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Dvi

update : (so i wont need to make a new thread )

Since i moved from alaloge to digital the "auto adjustment" feature doesnt work anymore... Is that only for the analoge mode?
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 12:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Dvi

Hello,

The auto adjustment feature is for analogue signal only. DVI doesn't need an auto adjust feature, because (in a nutshell) each pixel in the output buffer of the source device corresponds directly to one pixel in the display device. Therefore the vertical and horizontal alignment of the image is always in the right place.

You can usually change the scaling method in the graphics card display settings. For example, in the Nvidia Control Panel, when using DVI (digital signal), a DVI scaling menu will be available, allowing you to specify how the graphics card will scale non-native resolutions to the LCD TFT monitor.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 12:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Dvi

Great... Thanks again
__________________

AntonOle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.