DVD Progressive Scan - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 09:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Ah, I admit I know very little about it. I knew that the monitors are capable however, from some of the stuff I was reading it seemed they were leaning toward (not the DVD player) the vid cards in older systems needing a decoder card. Actually, I'm pretty sure on that but it's been awhile since I've seen them and can't exactly remember. So, essentially you would have a decoder that was capable of progressive scan. Not a normal DVD decoder, like the very old cards when the drives first hit market, but a special card. If I remember right when they came out they were around $500.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 10:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Nope, you just need an MPEG2 decoder, its all software now.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

yes, back in 2000 my dad bought a dell right when PC DVD players came out, and it had a separate card.

So i think we determined the output is what determins the quality now. If I have a current generation DVD player going through a 6900GT vid card through a DVI port into a 26inch LCD HDTV with 1366 x 768 resolution, it is the highest quality possible. Hooking up a separate DVD player will not give any better image.

The only reason this matters is that my sound system is all in my computer, and i have logitech z5500 speakers. I want to be able to use them for movies if i can.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

****, I still dont have a computer DVD player. Should get one, though. I know jack about DVD players, my area is AD, networking and some programming/PC hardware.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I have 2 DVD burners in mine. I'm all about copying DVD's


I have netflix.
The General is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 05:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Talking

Need to upgrade bad, but money is tight. Just had a baby about a month ago


EDIT: Well, actually, I MYSELF didn't have one, but you get the idea
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 04:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
I have 2 DVD burners in mine. I'm all about copying DVD's


I have netflix.
<as the feds are a knock knockin' on your door> Gotta love people who readily admit, with no regard to their well being, their illegal activities. Why dont you start slinging weed, half baked style, and pass out business cards, and watch business boom, with no law interaction.

A DVD player in the computer is an absolutely wonderful thing, and they are super cheap man. You can get a burner, a high end one, for $36, and probably a player for less than $20. It's time you join us in the 21st century, my man!

While we are on this topic, let us discuss upconverting and the HDMI interface. Alredy stated was that a computer, regardless, will display a DVD in the highest possible picture, wherever possible. If I get an HD DVD, will that be of even higher resolution on my computer than a regular DVD would get?

Onto the HDMI interface, if I was to get a DVD player capable of upconverting, would I need to use the HDMI interface to take advantage of that? (this all assuming I have an HDTV, which I do) Howstuffworks.com leads me to believe that I need an HDMI interface, whih my TV does not have. Sadly.

My TV also only has component, RCA, and S-video in/out, and no HDMI or DVI connection. What would give me the ebst picture if hooked up to my PC, S-video or composite?
Him is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

in order of picture quality, here it is from highest to lowest

HDMI and DVI (same digital signal, HDMI just adds sound and copy protection crap)
Component (red blue green cables)
S-Video
RCA (yellow video, red white sound)

So for you go with component
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 10:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
If I get an HD DVD, will that be of even higher resolution on my computer than a regular DVD would get?

If your computer monitor can support a resolution of 1940x1080, then HD-DVDs and Blu-Rays will be play at the maximun quality they can use as of this date.
The General is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 11:13 AM   #20 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
If your computer monitor can support a resolution of 1940x1080, then HD-DVDs and Blu-Rays will be play at the maximun quality they can use as of this date.
I have this TV: http://www.bizrate.com/televisiontv/pid6597479/

It's HD, so it will be able to handle any and all HD signals, right?

How much of a quality difference, if you know, is there between DVI and Component? How about between Component and S-video?
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.