dust - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2008, 10:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default dust

There's a lot of dust where I live. Is there a case/cooling option that will allow my gaming desktop to be pretty much airtight so the dust won't get inside?
__________________

wait321 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: dust

nope. unless you can put your computer in a vacuum, you just have to clean it out. it has to take air in for cooling.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: dust

Quote:
Originally Posted by wait321 View Post
There's a lot of dust where I live. Is there a case/cooling option that will allow my gaming desktop to be pretty much airtight so the dust won't get inside?
You can buy a relatively restricted airflow case (e.g. only 2 fan openings) and then put dust covers on the fans.

The basic problem is that computers generate heat which must be dissipated into another medium. Unless you have water cooling, that medium is air.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: dust

I think I heard somewhere that if you have a filtered fan blowing wind into the computer, dust won't be a real problem inside. Does anyone know if that works?
wait321 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: dust

Dust will still get into there. It would have to be air tight, in which case it would overheat because you have to have ventilation, which requires openings.

Just regularly clean your computer - not a big deal. Use compressed air every few weeks and spray the inside. You could also place the tower in a low-traffic area of the house, and off the floor to mitigate the dust accumulation.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: dust

Quote:
Originally Posted by wait321 View Post
I think I heard somewhere that if you have a filtered fan blowing wind into the computer, dust won't be a real problem inside. Does anyone know if that works?
Dust particles vary in size, the larger ones will get caught and the smaller ones will get through. Ironically the filter gets more effective as dust collects in it, more dust stuck in the filter means the openings get smaller and smaller. but eventually, if left long enough, they will clog entirely.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 08:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: dust

The other day i got my friends air compressor and gave my pc a blast. Good was it exhilarating, dust flying everywhere as i blew them out of their home in my pc.



If your computer gets dusty just give it a run over with a vacuum and and air compressor once a year~
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 09:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: dust

once a YEAR? lol i say more like once every 1-2 months, especially if you are in a dusty environment. or if you have cats.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan Dust Covers spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-25-2008 12:51 PM
Fans, Dust, Pressure, Flow,....Explanation? pokernod Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-29-2008 09:50 PM
Dust Question Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 11-15-2007 11:50 AM
Impact of Dust Bunnies on Cooling TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-05-2007 11:48 AM
Dust and Computers (cases) turboxchaz New Systems | Building and Buying 5 03-31-2007 08:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.