Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2008, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

im thinking of buying the hardware for my new rig in may but still dont know which processor to pick. anyona can help? i saw an extreme edition processor for 450 dont know if it worth the money between it and a locked processor
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

unless you're doing extreme processing and are fsb limited, then don't get an extreme.

also what are you going to be doing with your cpu. i would recommend a q6600 if you want quad, or a e8400 if you want speed.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

Q6600 g0, thats all you need to know
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

get a quad q6600. No questions asked
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

You can always add speed to a CPU, but you cant add extra cores
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
unless you're doing extreme processing and are fsb limited, then don't get an extreme.

also what are you going to be doing with your cpu. i would recommend a q6600 if you want quad, or a e8400 if you want speed.
the first sentence doesnt make sense. if im doing extreme processing, why should i go with an extreme. what is fsb limited? what do u mean by speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
get a quad q6600. No questions asked
how about q6700 and q9450?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
You can always add speed to a CPU, but you cant add extra cores
but y do you need more cores when u have already 4 and they arent fully used right now

EDIT: what stuff is extreme processing like applications, etc....
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

My 4 cores all get used. Most new games coming out use at least 2, and you can force most games to use all 4. Also, having a quad core allows you to play a game, listen to streaming music, use a voice client, keep an instant messenger open, etc etc, without affecting the games performance. The 6700 is an option now that the prices have come down, but the 9450 is still going to run into issues with hitting the FSB wall, and costs 33% more than the q6600 without an equal increase in performance.

My q6600 runs at a 50% overclock for daily use, and i can push it as high as 4ghz for benchmarking.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

4 cores can be used, once you get a quad yoou will come to realsie you use them, also you can over clock them to 3.6ghz easy, with a descent hs/f. q6600 is the cheapest quad out, and will oc as far as the q6700. also i doubt youl be fsb limited if ur buying an extreme cpu, also was teh extreme duo or quad.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
4 cores can be used, once you get a quad yoou will come to realsie you use them, also you can over clock them to 3.6ghz easy, with a descent hs/f. q6600 is the cheapest quad out, and will oc as far as the q6700. also i doubt youl be fsb limited if ur buying an extreme cpu, also was teh extreme duo or quad.
so ur saying that the Q6600 and Q6700 will overclock the same speed? the cheapest extreme processor was the QX6700 for 450 i think it is a quad but it was wierd that the X6800 was more expensive
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 07:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Duo vs. Quad vs. Extreme

yeah my b on the first sentance. i wasn't paying much attention to what i was typing. what i meant was unless you're doing extreme overclocking you don't need a qx series. just get a quad and call it a day
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
Intel Duo Vs. Intel Quad iGarrett New Systems | Building and Buying 26 12-29-2007 12:24 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Dual vs. Quad mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-20-2007 11:28 PM
Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad massacreinfallx New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-15-2007 03:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.