Which duel socket mobo and processors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2009, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Default Which duel socket mobo and processors?

My local PC workshop gave me quote for a much needed upgrade for my PC, they quoted 1700 to install an Asus Z8NA-D6 mobo with two i7 quad core processors and 32 gig of ddr3 ram, it sounded like a really good deal but slightly out of my price range, so I started looking at upgrading to just a single i7 with a cheaper board and slightly less ram and the price worked out at roughly the same

So again the duel i7 upgrade deal looked promising but to my horror after a little more research I discovered that the i7's can't be run in tandem on any board as they aren't interconnected and secondly my OS (XP pro x64) can only see a maximum of 16 gig I'm now stuck and need some recommendations from you guy's based around upgrading my current PC.

I would like to upgrade to two (fast) 3ghz plus quad core processors, 16 gig of (fast) Ram to make up for my OS ram limitation (so ddr3 ram if poss) I'll need a new mobo to do all this but I can't figure out which one, or which processors or the best ram I know I'll need a Xeon to run two quads in tandem but which Xeon? The other board I was looking at was the Sculltrail, looks like a really good board but it doesn't support ddr3 ram . . . from here on in I'm lost, I need to make the most of what I've got working within the constraints that I have ie my OS and my Radeon 4870's (run out of X-fire mode) to power 3 screens.

Can anyone help my figure something out?
__________________

ni-cad is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

What is this computer going to be used for?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

Windows XP x64 is limited to 128 GB of physical memory and 8 terabytes of virtual memory per process.

What are you doing that requires that much processing power and memory?
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 06:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

I could have sworn there was a limit on the amount of Ram this OS can see, I must have read some misinformation floating around on the net, it is indeed capable of seeing 128 gig of ram

The machine is used as a lot for Video graphics, the main app being After Effects. At present the machine has 8 gig, this only allows approximately one and a half min's of HD video to be held in the apps allocated Ram and ram previews, rendering takes horrendously long, a ten min HD composition takes around 6 hours to render out, the machine simply doesn't have enough processing or ram to be able to work comfortably with HD video, I constantly get "Windows memory low" warnings and the system frequently chokes due to the lack of processing power.

Really, I would like to find a way to take advantage of ddr3 ram and a two processor set up, perhaps the asus duel socket board is a good option after all if it were fitted with two fast Xeons, i don't know. I'm quite concerned that I make the right decision now though rather than find out later something isn't compatible etc. So any advice would be well appreciated.
ni-cad is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 259
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

Do you plan to use multiple video cards? Keep in mind if you are, the Intel 5500 chipset will max out with 24 PCI-e lanes. The Intel 5520 chipset can go to 36 lanes.
If you find something with 5500 chipset, you can run only 1 PCI-e X16 video card or up to 3 PCI-e X8 video.
If you find something with 5520 chipset, you can run 2 PCI-e X16 video cards or up to 4 PCI-e X8 video.

If you don't need multiple video cards, but just pure raw power, consider a rack server with 4 LGA1366 processors with 5520 chipset. Look at this MS-92C2
__________________
Heat: fastvan67
ebay: fastvan
My new website (under construction)
Latest in PC Parts
Fastvan67 is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 10:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

The Z8NA-D6 does not support dual graphics cards and looking through ASUS's site, only the Z8PE-D18 does.

EDIT: lol I started writing that over an hour ago... stupid startrek
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

yeah, I've got two ATI radeon 4870's which I'll want to use on the new board, I don't know if they're Pci-e X15 or X8, I'll check the specs.

Thanks kmote, I'll have a look.
ni-cad is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 10:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

I would buy an openGL optimized card - after effects is an opengl based program afterall. If you go with an nvidia with cuda support your video card will help with the rendering.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 02:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

It's cool, the Power color ATI Radeon HD 4870's I have support openGL 2.0 AE previews fine with openGL enabled etc, and all the openGL info appears correctly under AE's preferences etc.

EDD: So the Z8PE-D18 it is then, what kind of processors should I go for? I was hoping to get a couple of 3.2 ghz Xeon quads but I'm not sure I can afford them, infact I can't even tell what their prices are likely to be they seem to vary so much from site to site, one site asks over a grand the next site asks 250 . . .

Can anyone recommend some good processors?
ni-cad is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 08:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Which duel socket mobo and processors?

Whats your price range? Under 2800 bucks US?
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compatibility question with CPU & MOBO kenji_03 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-30-2009 11:06 AM
Any Tips Before Discarding a MoBo??? StupidRalph Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 01-17-2009 11:59 PM
mobos, RAM, CPU's, bottlenecking, and questions about "speed" White_Wolf System Upgrades 1 12-14-2008 06:44 AM
45nm AMD Processor for AM3 only maroon1 New Technology and Products 44 05-26-2008 05:41 PM
need to find similar MOBO asap help please raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-15-2007 03:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.