dualcore vs dual processor - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 04:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
AMD K8 multisocket configurations communicate between processors using multiple hypertransport links...I believe Opterons support four simulteanous HTT links operating at once but don't quote me on that

Although the HTT link offers a high bandwidth and low latency solution and will therefore be fast when operating in multisocket enviroments, a multicore CPU will actually communicate between the cores at the effective speed of the cores themselves...with much lower latency and as a result much greater bandwidth than a multisocket would

Basically multisocket processors each have their own seperate memory controller that has to be in communication with the other controllers, whereas multicores have one unified controller coordinating all of the cores and thus saving the time it takes to send data down a system bus

Should also note that the 4400+ does not "split" the 2.2GHz operating frequency, it splits the a 4.4Ghz clock speed and each core operates individually at 2.2GHz therefore a dual core processor operating at the same frequency as two procesors in a dual processor configuration should have about the same IPC rate
so gaara i guess i should go with dualcore but should i stick with 4400+ or should i go with opteron dual core
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

if you haev the money to go with a 4400+ go with it, but if you were planning on getting an X2 4200+ or 3800+ defintely get an opteron as they have the total of 2MB cache just like the 4400+ but at a much lower price
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
if you haev the money to go with a 4400+ go with it, but if you were planning on getting an X2 4200+ or 3800+ defintely get an opteron as they have the total of 2MB cache just like the 4400+ but at a much lower price
will i have the mony for the 4400 but i was told that opteron are better for overclocking(although iam not sure if iam going to overclock)
so i kind looked at neweeg and found some dual core opteron for the same price(almost)
like
AMD Opteron 175 Denmark 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
or
AMD Opteron 170 Denmark 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
or
AMD x2 4400+
i think the 170 Operating Frequency is 2gig but the 4400 and the 175 2.2 with the same l2 cache
zenyora is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

whats the difference between opteron and x2 anyways, how come AMD made two kindas of dual core, is one better for gaming and other for applciations or somin? if so, which one is for gaming, x2 or opteron?
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.