Dual psu do or dont ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2010, 05:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Dual psu do or dont ?

so whats your guys opinion on dual power supply's do or don't, cause ive been looking into it for a bit now. one to run my mother board cpu and video cards then one to run everything else im planing on picking up 4 2 tb hard drives and 2 ssd plus 2 5870 down the road and wanna know if dual power supplys would be a good option rather than one giant psu. and is one giant 12 v rail better than multiple rails.
__________________

Desolation is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 06:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

Just get one big one. Harddrives and sdd's dont consume much anyway... Newegg.com - Antec TPQ-1200 1200W Continuous Power with PowerCache Technology SLI Ready CrossFire Certified 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Roughly 850W+ is recommended for crossfire 5870's....
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 08:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

^^I agree with zedman^^
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 02:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

Be cautious with dual PSU setups. >_>

I have seen some, where someone didn't balance the power properly, one PSU was putting out a bit more voltage than the other on a rail, well, lets just say, a IDE controller died >_>
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 59
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

Stick with a single PSU as it's less risky than having two PSUs and it's one less fan to have running on your computer too!
__________________
Fantastic Day Trip Ideas: www.ketrin.co.uk
My Personal Blog: www.ketrin.co.uk/blog
Fazza is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

Alot of big folding rigs are dual psu, with the second psu powering the 3 of the 4 gpus.

Only advantage of dual psu are 2 500s are usually less than 1 1k psu
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 01:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

I have a place for another power supply in the bottom of my case, but I have not used it.......not yet at least
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 03:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

5870s sips power compared to fermi
750TX could run 5870 crossfire or go with the Corsair 850TX if you are overclocking (newer, and I hear its overall, better quality)

376W power consumption for dual 5870 add another ~200W for cpu

576W + another 100W for everything else 676W

hard drives consumes ~5W ea. half of that for SSD's
so I dont know why people think they need a huge psu for multiple hard drives
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 04:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Be cautious with dual PSU setups. >_>

I have seen some, where someone didn't balance the power properly, one PSU was putting out a bit more voltage than the other on a rail, well, lets just say, a IDE controller died >_>
I can second that too.

The only time I have seens dual PSU is in a server case as a redundancy measure.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Dual psu do or dont ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
5870s sips power compared to fermi
750TX could run 5870 crossfire or go with the Corsair 850TX if you are overclocking (newer, and I hear its overall, better quality)

376W power consumption for dual 5870 add another ~200W for cpu

576W + another 100W for everything else 676W

hard drives consumes ~5W ea. half of that for SSD's
so I dont know why people think they need a huge psu for multiple hard drives
I agree...both my CPU and GPU are overclocked and I do fine with a 550vx.
__________________

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual SLI GTS 250s PSU fiveoh New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-22-2009 04:57 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 01:48 PM
Office PC PSU Dead? MerkwŁrdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-24-2008 07:58 PM
PSU like acting like a vehicle... Chrysamere Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-01-2008 02:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.