Dual Processor - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2006, 04:14 AM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

IBM's going to use a bunch of Opterons and Cell processors in a supercomputer, to try and hit 1 petaflop (1,000,000,000,000 floating point calculations per second)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 05:33 AM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you are talking about the "Roadrunner" project i hear it is supposed to use a combination of conventional super computers, 26,000 Opteron's and a number of Cell based processors from IBM somewhere equal to the number of Opteron's.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 08:57 AM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

man if ur looking to buy an ultimate computer wait till the quad cores come out and also wait till Nvidia realeses its nvidia G80, cause game slike alan wake, crysis and conan require minimums of dual core, and even the best graphics cards now wont be able to make the same graphics that he g80 will so just hold ur horses for a bit longer...
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 12:27 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

I think that he was looking for something like this:
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?p=MB-...05545b404ddfb#

I mean, WOW. I have always dreamed about creating a system out of a motherboard like this, but then I learned that the headache would be enormous. First, you would have to sell your parent's farm, then you would have to set all of it up. Imagine the POWER that this system would consume!

After that, you would have to have a 64bit operating system. Once you installed everything you'd log on to your system just to find out that the game you wanted to play wouldn't work. EVEN WORSE, you would find that the game is running at the same FPS and such as your friends computer with two 7900GTX cards and and INTEL CORE 2 DUO. *gasp* ...and he only payed 2000$ v.s. your quadracentillion dollars on this monster.

Go with a Conroe system!
__________________

__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.