Dual monitors in sli? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2008, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Dual monitors in sli?

I was planning on plugging two 21" CRT's (i bought a 2nd one for 10 bucks, lol!) onto my 8800 gt's...

But wait... i just found out that for some reason when your running sli you can't have dual monitors?

Now i COULD use one of my old pci cards and just use that for the 2nd monitor... but i dont want to... i want to know why when i have 1 8800 gt i can run 2 monitors... but when i have 2... i cant run 2 WHILE they are in SLI..
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

you have to disable SLI in order to run dual monitors...thats just how it is.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

Oh well... ill just have to throw in that other pci card... (this is the recommended suggestion if u want to run dual monitors)

Just out of curiosity... can crossfire support dual monitors?

OH... and tri-sli supports up to 6 monitors...


this makes me mad..
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

Crossfire does support multiple monitors. I run SLI with a third pci-e card(1650pro) to run my 2nd monitor.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

Well that is gay... do you know if they will realease software that will alow me to do it without throwing in my PCI card?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

From what i have heard, nvidia refuses to support multiple monitors and SLI, dont know why, i'm guessing laziness.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 01:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

I read an article that said for some reason because of the way sli works, dual monitors aren't possible.... crossfire does though.

I'm not sure why but I think it has to do with the way crossfire and SLi scale. With crossfire, you can have up to 200% of the performance of one card. But with SLi, only about 140% the performance of one card... So by running dual monitors in SLi, you'd actually be doing more harm than good because you'd see 40% less fps per monitor than if SLi was disabled... that's an 80% performance decrease across the board. Ouch. Since crossfire scales to 200% in some cases though, that's not a problem for them.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

well, then ill just throw in the other PCI card... and once agian if i could start over from the very start i would of crossfired...or just got a 8800 gts 512mb instead...


or maybe i will just use 1 24" ... hmm


now i hvae some tough decisons... god **** you sli!
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
well, then ill just throw in the other PCI card... and once agian if i could start over from the very start i would of crossfired...or just got a 8800 gts 512mb instead...


or maybe i will just use 1 24" ... hmm


now i hvae some tough decisons... god **** you sli!
Yeah agreed ha. I have 3 monitors that I use with sli disabled. I enable it for gaming etc...
__________________
ďFortune favors the brave.Ē
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 10:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dual monitors in sli?

In theory i can run 3 monitors with SLI enabled My 1650 has dual dvi out and since its an ati card it doesnt get disabled when i turn SLI on.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Monitors Brinson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-12-2007 01:10 AM
ATI 9800 Pro Dual Monitors? Looby Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-09-2007 12:30 AM
Dual View Monitors Nitrocrusher Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-27-2007 06:55 PM
Dual monitors question matthewgilchris Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 08-20-2007 02:35 PM
Dual Monitors and Performance will h4x 4 food New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-17-2007 08:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.