Dual Monitors and Performance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2007, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default Dual Monitors and Performance

Does having 2 monitors effect the performance of a game if you are playing the game on only one of the monitors?
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

I believe it only effects it if you are playing the game with both monitors. However I am not too sure about it.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

No... well, It doesn't for me anyway. I usually play a game on one and watch TV on the other.. and dont notice it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

I do the same thing, and haven't noticed anything either.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

Im not cool like that lmao. I only have one monitor and cable TV 3 feet to the left of me :P
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 03:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

Not many games actually use dual monitors, but what i think they're best for is to play a game on one screen, and have all your IM junk on the other, so you can allways see when someone is talking to you. Dual monitors are just great for keeping extra stuff up. I keep google desktop, aim buddy list, google talk buddy list, MSN and any IM's all up on the right screen, and i do internet browsing and games on the other. Also i keep all my desktop icons on the right, so i don't have to minimize anything to use them. I <3 dual monitors!
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 03:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by spartan1121 View Post
Not many games actually use dual monitors, but what i think they're best for is to play a game on one screen, and have all your IM junk on the other, so you can allways see when someone is talking to you. Dual monitors are just great for keeping extra stuff up. I keep google desktop, aim buddy list, google talk buddy list, MSN and any IM's all up on the right screen, and i do internet browsing and games on the other. Also i keep all my desktop icons on the right, so i don't have to minimize anything to use them. I <3 dual monitors!
And your computer doesnt lag at all when you play games? **** you must have a nice computer.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

Well I get the exact same benchmarks with cloned monitors that I do with single, and if you have nothing on the second that also has no impact. You can have stuff on the second screen like a playlist or IM client, personally i've not noticed any performance difference, I guess there's the extra hit on the CPU same as if they were running in the background but there's is no logical reason for it to impact the graphics card performance.

If the game actually supports dual monitors though you should expect a big hit in performance (e.g. Supreme Commander).
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

motoxer4533...you don't need a nice computer to run dual monitors. The system in your sig can handle it.

I like to play games on my main left screen, and I usually have all my stats like temperatures, memory usage, running music, on the secondary screen.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Dual Monitors and Performance

lol, look at my system specs. Even with a 1.6 ghz proc and half a gig of ram plus an old 6200 AGP card, I still have 2 monitors and it runs just fine. Of course, I can't play any of the newer games, but I always keep winamp and aim open in the right along with any system monitors, and my main application on the left screen.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.