Dual monitors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2008, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Dual monitors?

hi guys

How many people out there are using two or more monitors?

Is it worth the extra cost of another monitor to go dual?

Express your opinions

[t..o..m]
__________________

__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Dual monitors?

i dont own dual monitors, a fair bit of ppl do nowadays tho, i feel its more useful for application use and not for gaming, unless you have those dual monitors that have no plastic edging on the middle sides. besides from that it puts too much stree on ur cards for gaming use and atm only crossfire supports dual mon. (sli coming). but yeah for applicational use i guiess it would be ok, ive wanted to setup dual monitors for a while...
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dual monitors?

i used to use dualview with my 8500gt and it never had a prob. and i'm in vista ultimate. but now i dont have the desk space for it.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Dual monitors?

I often use dual monitors. My primary PC is a laptop, so often times I'll hook my 20" DVI HP w2007 monitor up to my 17" dv9700t laptop via an HDMI to DVI cable. Using this setup I get an amazing amount of desktop space. It really does improve usability quite a bit.

Before that, I had used my old 17" CRT and 15" CRT side-by-side on my desktop, and before that I used my TV as a secondary monitor.

However, sometimes I'll have my desktop on the main monitor and my laptop with its own screen, still just as useful but you can game while browsing/chatting (you can't do this on two monitors on one PC, the game will take up only one monitor but the mouse can't leave the game, so the other monitor can't be used for anything other than stuff that just displays information.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Dual monitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
However, sometimes I'll have my desktop on the main monitor and my laptop with its own screen, still just as useful but you can game while browsing/chatting (you can't do this on two monitors on one PC, the game will take up only one monitor but the mouse can't leave the game, so the other monitor can't be used for anything other than stuff that just displays information.
Oh really? because the primary thing that I would of been using it for is gaming on one screen, with music library and firefox on the other. So the mouse can't move to second screen whilst gaming?
__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default Re: Dual monitors?

Been a year on dual here, wouldn't go backward. Getting quite usefull when I work, honnestly. Running own business here and lots of thing going on simultaneously so two screens helps with efficiency.


That is all.


When I game, the other one is turned off (or locked on a web page so I can read when maps loading )
__________________
Core2 Duo E6300
Asus P5B
2 X 1024 MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Asus GeForce 7600GT
fadedstar is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Dual monitors?

I run dual. if i had room for 3 id run that XD no desk space though. Only game it's actually useful for is supreme commander, other then that it's basically just for app use. great for keeping music library or whatever up.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 09:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South UK
Posts: 20
Send a message via MSN to sontommo
Default Re: Dual monitors?

personally, its never worth it.
when i tired i had alot of problems between the monitors running at different refresh rates causing problems during games.
sontommo is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 09:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Dual monitors?

I run dual monitors one is my very nice Benq 24" 1900x1200 an the other is a 19" Hanns G. I use to use tri monitors (have one always with itunes open above my head, one I was using at the time and the other was for msn or films generally). Dual monitors are great for everything except gaming simply because you end up with an inch in the middle where the bezels meet having said that if you like flight sims then this won't be a problem with a cockpit view. If you like Rts then I watch a film at the same time with a muted game generally. Fps though its generally a hinderence then useful as it can distract, some games don't support dual monitors and can cause you to get the perfect shot lined up click and the game minimises as you have clicked on the other screen very annoying!!!
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 11:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Dual monitors?

I use dual monitors all the time and it is extremely useful when web designing or programming. I couldn't imagine not have my 24" and 22" side-by-side. When gaming, like others, I turn the 24" off.
__________________

__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
??? on monitors, resolution, and dual displays dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-14-2008 10:59 AM
Crossfire Dual Monitors mike510 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-01-2008 08:18 PM
8800GTS (g92) + dual monitors KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 02-26-2008 07:48 PM
Dual monitors in sli? Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 21 01-27-2008 01:09 AM
Dual monitors question matthewgilchris Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 08-20-2007 02:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.