Dual-Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2006, 02:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default Dual-Monitors

I'm going to be starting CAD drafting soon and have decided on going with dual-monitors instead of a widescreen. This way I can put spec sheets of the product on one side and the drawing I am working on on the other. I'm hoping to keep it to maybe $250 max. I'm hearing there's not really a recognizable difference in DVI or VGA connections, but I figure if DVI is available, why not..

LG makes a good product and the price is right. What do you guys think of this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824005046

My current monitor is a 17 inch HP. I want two 19's, so I figure I'll get one now and upgrade some other time.

I am also curious...if I play a game on dual monitors will I get basically 1/2 the graphics power (frame rate) since the output is to two monitors? I'm thinking no, but somebody please reinforce my thinking. Thanks!

PS- Before anybody asks, my GPU has one VGA and one DVI outut. The HP I have now uses the VGA.
__________________

Timaphillips is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 02:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well if you play a game unless it has multiple monitor support or you have the desktop setup in a stretch setting (not sure though) it will only display on one monitor. there will be perhaps a couple of fps drop because it has to serve the secondary monitor with 2d graphics
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

nitestick is correct.... I have a duel monitor setup on my other system, and while playing FEAR I only get one screen and still no noticable FPS drop. But the stretch settings are only for your desktop back ground. You would just have to enable the other screen from the desktop properties. I also have them on one so I've got the adapter on... Still no difference. Go for it...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

I have duel and its really awsome. I dabble in stocks and I really use the extra space, also helps when talking to people on a messenger you can still work while talking. Im actualy considering geting a cheap $20 graphics card and hooking up anouther monitor.
harley3344 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i too have dual monitors. sure does increase my homework productivity . it really helps when i have an assignment i have to crossreference with something else i've typed because i can have both documents full screen at the same time.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

Im runnin duel crt's, and i really use it a lot. I had to get an adapter because my video card only has one vga output, but i really use the second one a lot. I can monitor my temps and cpu usage and stuff while im gaming. Also, it really helps when comparing products and making lists for builds. But you dual LG idea sounds good. go for it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.