dual moniter question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2007, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default dual moniter question

Hey guys, i was just wondering if having 2 moniters hooked up to one 7600GT will make the GPU slower and not to its full performance.
__________________

__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: dual moniter question

nope shouldn't effect performance as when you play a game it only plays on one screen you might lose one fps but nothing noticeable. I reccomend using a program called "ultramon" to manage your screens its by far the best I have used out of about 8 alternatives. There is a 30 day free trial or you can download through less legal ways
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: dual moniter question

I just let XP manage my dual monitors. Use my 24" for gaming and use my 20" for everything else.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: dual moniter question

ultramon adds a taskbar to the extra monitor extremely useful I find...... and it also saves profiles of monitor set-ups which is more useful on my laptop then my desktop but still a worthy extra
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default Re: dual moniter question

are there any free ones out there?
__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: dual moniter question

mine are identical only problem is one is vga which is set to default wich sucks cause i dont get my full1600:1 contrast ration that way, i need a another dvi cable.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 02:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: dual moniter question

yes you can use the nvidia one that is in your tools for your gfx card or windows xp screenmanager. but personally I think those two are the worst to use the settings are very restrictive whilst ultramon is great just download the free trial and see what you prefer. It is available through less legal ways if you have no money at all
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 10:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default Re: dual moniter question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhlrocker View Post
are there any free ones out there?
I've been using DisplayFusion on my dual monitor setup at work and it has worked out great. It's also compatible with vista if you have it.
__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 10:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: dual moniter question

Are you wanting an extended display or two seperate displays?
I'm using the Nvidia Control center and it works just fine(for both). But if you want two seperate displays, just make sure to hook up the second monitor before you start the pc or restart it, else it would show the options to have it as a serperate display. And obviously download the lastest drivers which will have the latest Nvidia Control Center.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 381
Default Re: dual moniter question

So if you have 2 monitors hooked up, you can have 2 different screens opened up, 1 on one monitor and another on the other monitor? I could have my game opened up on one screen and a website opened up on the other monitor?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual monitors question matthewgilchris Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 08-20-2007 02:35 PM
Quick Dual Channel Ram question andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-28-2007 11:03 AM
Dual Boot (question) zaki1990 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 07-14-2007 10:29 PM
Dual boot question zacharyt Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-14-2007 09:09 AM
Dual boot Question with Vista and XP (help appreciated) Deadpixel Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-29-2007 07:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.