Dual HDD's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Dual HDD's

Hey guys,
I currently have a 40gb Maxtor HDD running at 7200rpm, however it has almost come to the end of it's life (by saying that I mean it's almost full), i've cleaned it up and everything so there's no junk, just the stuff I want and it's still full.
Therefore I'm investing in a Seagate 200gb 7200rpm ATA133 HDD, since my motherboard doesnt support SATA.
Now the questions are:
1) Should I run the 40gb as a windows startup drive i.e. only having stuff necesarry for the initial boot? And then keep the 200gb for all my games, mp3's, movies etc
2) Even keep the old 40gb?
3) Finally, By using question 1 would I notice an increase in performance?

Thanks,

- Michael -
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 06:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You will get a small performance boost(if its a recent drive). I'd use Windows on both drives.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 08:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

so put windows on both drives? So windows is booting off both drives? Wouldnt it be better for just one?
Both drives are fairly decent, they both have 8mb cache's, 7200rpm, ATA 133.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'd trash the 40 and move to the 200. Unless you completely reformat the 40, put the OS on that to run, and then move EVERYTHING else to the 200 for storage and game use.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 05:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It will ask you which one you want to boot from at startup.

Its always good to have if you run into problems.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 09:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
I'd trash the 40 and move to the 200. Unless you completely reformat the 40, put the OS on that to run, and then move EVERYTHING else to the 200 for storage and game use.
That's what I was thinking of doing.
Moving only the windows folder into the 40gb drive and keep everything else on the 200gb, maybe drivers and stuff can go on the 40gb as well.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 05:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

what i would do is this.

Move all files you want to keep like SAVED game files, pictures, music, movies, porn, and work to the 200GB drive in a folder, then reformat the entire 40GB drive and install windows and the games back to it. Then have the My Documents folder direct ALL the files that get saved in it to the 200GB drive.... Use the 40gb for anything thats on CD like games and the windows installation and the 200 for files you dont want to lose.......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 07:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah that's what i do with my 10k RPM Raptor, i run the OS on that and run all my other apps on the 250GB Baracuda.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.