Dual graphics cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2007, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Question Dual graphics cards

If I want a system that can support two 2-D graphics cards (NVidia Quadro NVS 440's), do I need a motherboard that has SLI support? Or, since these cards aren't designed for 3-D applications, do I not need SLI support?

Would a board with CrossFire support work or is CrossFire incompatible with NVidia graphics cards?

Thanks.
__________________

ChiliPalmer is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 04:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: Dual graphics cards

you always need SLI or Crossfire to support dual cards man unless I'm not aware of another type of GPU sharing plat. I'm not familiar with Quadros ......
__________________

Mechtech3000 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Dual graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiliPalmer View Post
If I want a system that can support two 2-D graphics cards (NVidia Quadro NVS 440's), do I need a motherboard that has SLI support? Or, since these cards aren't designed for 3-D applications, do I not need SLI support?

Would a board with CrossFire support work or is CrossFire incompatible with NVidia graphics cards?

Thanks.
yes u can use ati cards on nvidia chipsets/vice versa....(u can't use dual cards tho) quadros are engineering/3-d enginnering apps cards.....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Dual graphics cards

u can also use some quadro cards in SLi, it will mention it in the card specs


btw the SLi and Crossfire are not worth the 30% increase (or less) for 100% price increase
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-23-2007 10:18 PM
Newbie w/ Graphics Questions Grizzlyb34r New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-09-2007 08:45 AM
Free Graphics ? OzzyClass Web Graphics and Design 0 04-22-2007 07:50 PM
Graphics Cards AZNRockThis Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.