Dual CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2006, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Dual CPU

Are dual CPU boards worth the money and hassle?

Is the EATX H8DC8 with 2 single cores much better than some other ATX board with a dual core?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I don't think its worth it unless you want 4 or more cores.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

what about haveing a certain amount of upgradability i.e. swapping out to 4 cores at a later date?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

As of now, available to the consumer, the most "CPUs" you can have running are four. You can only buy a motherboard with two CPUs that are both dual core, therefor giving you two dual core CPUs.

Dual CPU is a waste of money, get a single CPU slot and get a dual core, it's the most you should ever need unless your trying to launch a shuttle with it
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

there is the fact to concider that 2 single core opeterons are £50 cheaper together than the dual core opteron is.
Plus with the dual CPU board you have the option to upgrade to 2 dual cores a few years down the line presumably fairly cheaply, does it work out economically in the long run?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

ITs usually meant for workstations, and the chipset is usually a professionally oriented chipset, whatever that means.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Opteron will move onto socket 1207 w/ quad cores by next year and the 64 will have the AM2. So you might be able to have 4 cores on one chip if you wait for these boards.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
As of now, available to the consumer, the most "CPUs" you can have running are four.
quad s940 boards are pretty easily available they just cost a lot. you are better off with a dual core in my opinion because they work more closely together than dual cpu's. dual s940 boards are too expensive and s940 opteron's are impractical for general use because they are really designed for server systems e.g. with the ECC ram.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 01:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Default

well your thinking in wrong terms with dual cpu's. Having two 64 bit cpu's isn't going to let your pc process information at 128 bit, it doesn't really combine the 2 cpu's. Its just made for workstations, you're much better off buying a single dual core
Curry Viking is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 01:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

a lot of consumer based programs aren't set up for a dual CPU board which as most have said are for server workstations.

You really don't want to go that route as it doesn't offer any substantial benefits
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.