Dual core vs. Single - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Default Dual core vs. Single

I'm helping someone build a PC, and I started wondering how much of an advantage a dual core give. Specifically the
the X2 4800+ vs. the FX- 57. The FX costs 500, and the X2 costs 300. Which is a better value, and about how much does a dual core help in general?

Also, just to get this cleared up, how does this Conroe compare to the two? Thanks for any clarification.
__________________

pudkins is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Conroe obliterates both of them, get a Conroe, and you want dual-core for sure. Single core is so 90's. <- lol

Seriously, Core 2 Duo annihilates those AMD's, PLEASE don't spend money on those.

This is what I have. Soooo awesome! I have it running at 3.4Ghz right now, it freaking flies.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

question is? what is going to be the main use of the system? Conroe is better right now for general CPU usage overall... but if price if the game, then AM2 might be what your looking for. go with a AM2 4400 x2 and 2GB of RAM... the FX series is overrated and super expensive for what you get.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Default

So why is the single core priced so much more? Seems like odd marketing.
pudkins is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

what single core are you talking about?? a link would help....
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Becuase its an FX-57..FX is AMD flagship chip with an unlocked multiplier so they're good for OC'n. The problem is Every single core 2 duo from intel completely and utterly destroys all of AMDs chips right now. The one the General has, running at 3.4GHz is about 1.7 times faster than the FX at stock speeds.

Question: Why hasn't AMD broken the 3GHz mark yet? What on EARTH are they waiting for?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
what single core are you talking about?? a link would help....
The FX-57 in the OP.

And Benny, isn't a 2.0GHz AMD about equal to a 3.0GHz intel? I've had that confirmed a lot, here, friends, and experience.
pudkins is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

yea, yea.. I'm a dummy and didn't see the link to begin with... DUAL CORE all the way...

what's better. one core with x.x or 2 with x.x

that is what you have to work with....
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Seems to be varying answers here. X2 or Conroe?
pudkins is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Conroe...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.