Dual core Vs Quad core ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2008, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Dual core Vs Quad core ??

ok so whats the deal, some people say the dual core is better for gaming, others say the quad core is better because it is more future proof.

My computer will be used ONLY for playing Age of conan.

What should I get ??

q6600

or

E8400 ???
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

q6600 @ 3.6ghz
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

I decided to go with e7200 due to the fact I probably wont see ANY difference at ALL while playing AoC
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

if you aren't going to overclock, e8400.
if you are going to overclock, you can overclock the 8400 higher.
it will also run quite a bit cooler than a q6600, even with a higher overclock.
i say e8400.
either one will handle AoC just fine.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

Q6600 if your not going to upgrade soon.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

Dear god, how much does that affect the life-span of the CPU? Having it OCed to 3.6Ghz?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

Considering the cpu is rated for about 100000 hours, even if i cut that in half, i'd say i'm pretty safe. And if it dies, meh i'll just go buy a 9450
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Considering the cpu is rated for about 100000 hours, even if i cut that in half, i'd say i'm pretty safe. And if it dies, meh i'll just go buy a 9450
I can't find any data on the MTBF of a Q6600... Does anyone have an official document from Intel?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 09:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

you won't kill your chip from overclocking, dont worry.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Dual core Vs Quad core ??

Unless you get selfish you will not fry your chip
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Dual vs. Quad mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-20-2007 11:28 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.