dual core question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2006, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default dual core question...

just out of curiosity, when you get a dual core, i know you have to reset BIOS and all, but is there different readings to expect and is there other utilities you need for dual cores rather than a single core cpu? for example, do i have to d/l any drivers for stability reasons etc?

also, as of now i have a 939 board and i don't plan on getting an am2 or intel core 2 anytime soon. so heres another question. do i wait a few more months and buy a 939 dual core when the price goes down. or should i keep what i have and wait a year or so for the am2's to go down in price? -- which in case i would have to get a new cpu and board.
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

The prices won't go down any lower, if any change takes place at all - the 939 production line will be closed.

Why go AM2? It's a pointless platform, if you wanna wait, wait for the K8L and stuff, but by then intel should have a technology that surpasses AMD's K8L too. but lets let time do his job.


-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Depends where you're upgrading from, before it's "pointless".

If you're going from a single core to a dual, almost anything's more than "pointless."

If you're upgrading, you should always go with the latest that's available. Currently, the AM2 socket is the newest out, so if you're going to move up to anything (other than an FX) I would recommend you go to the AM2.

The AM2 socket may not stick around forever, but for now it's the one running the AMD dual core X2 chips.

The only thing you're gonna see moving from a 64 to a 64X2 is the benifits of the dual core tech. If that appeals to you, then go for it, but you'll have to do a bit of upgrades to get there (mobo, mem).

If you want to stay with yer 939, and your mobo supports something bigger, the only place you can really go above the 64 servies is the FX chips...which range from $$ to arm-leg.

If you want my opinion, from where you're at...unless you have the $$ for a big upgrade, stay put. Spend the money on MORE RAM and a bigger HDD. That'd be more worth your while at this point.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

not quite pointless at all. read up.
note the transfer rate of 5.2. dang. will be awhile, tho.

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=3169
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Depends where you're upgrading from, before it's "pointless".

If you're going from a single core to a dual, almost anything's more than "pointless."

If you're upgrading, you should always go with the latest that's available. Currently, the AM2 socket is the newest out, so if you're going to move up to anything (other than an FX) I would recommend you go to the AM2.

The AM2 socket may not stick around forever, but for now it's the one running the AMD dual core X2 chips.

The only thing you're gonna see moving from a 64 to a 64X2 is the benifits of the dual core tech. If that appeals to you, then go for it, but you'll have to do a bit of upgrades to get there (mobo, mem).

If you want to stay with yer 939, and your mobo supports something bigger, the only place you can really go above the 64 servies is the FX chips...which range from $$ to arm-leg.

If you want my opinion, from where you're at...unless you have the $$ for a big upgrade, stay put. Spend the money on MORE RAM and a bigger HDD. That'd be more worth your while at this point.
im actually waiting till after xmas, but im getting 1gb mem, 250gb hdd, 7900gs and either an opty 165,170 or x2 3800+
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Depends where you're upgrading from, before it's "pointless".

If you're going from a single core to a dual, almost anything's more than "pointless."

If you're upgrading, you should always go with the latest that's available. Currently, the AM2 socket is the newest out, so if you're going to move up to anything (other than an FX) I would recommend you go to the AM2.

The AM2 socket may not stick around forever, but for now it's the one running the AMD dual core X2 chips.

The only thing you're gonna see moving from a 64 to a 64X2 is the benifits of the dual core tech. If that appeals to you, then go for it, but you'll have to do a bit of upgrades to get there (mobo, mem).

If you want to stay with yer 939, and your mobo supports something bigger, the only place you can really go above the 64 servies is the FX chips...which range from $$ to arm-leg.

If you want my opinion, from where you're at...unless you have the $$ for a big upgrade, stay put. Spend the money on MORE RAM and a bigger HDD. That'd be more worth your while at this point.
You actually think there arent any dual core cpu's out for s939? almost all the opterons are available in 939. I am personally going to upgrade to the opty 170 in the near future with my 939 build.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
You actually think there arent any dual core cpu's out for s939? almost all the opterons are available in 939. I am personally going to upgrade to the opty 170 in the near future with my 939 build.
Hmm, didn't know the Opteron was dc. My bad. I didn't look far enough down on the list.

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

@ ShoobieRat, its pointless because for cheaper/same price he can go Intel and gain much better performance [this is true for nowdays at least, thats why I said that if he wishes to wait for anything, then he should wait for K8L]

Plus, You can still find on Ebay quite a lot of S939 Versions of dual core CPUs, and furthermore there are some X2 Core CPU's that are still officialy manufactured for S939.. but as I said, don't expect any more of a price drop on those.


-Jo
Yoad is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Depends where you're upgrading from, before it's "pointless".

If you're going from a single core to a dual, almost anything's more than "pointless."

If you're upgrading, you should always go with the latest that's available. Currently, the AM2 socket is the newest out, so if you're going to move up to anything (other than an FX) I would recommend you go to the AM2.
Going from 939 to AM2 would mean new CPU, new motherboard and new RAM. If he is doing that, there is no reason to get an AM2 because they are obliterated by LGA775/C2D. I've said it before, and I'll say it again. There is no reason to get an AMD system right now, unless you're just another AMD fanboy who wants to pay more for slower performance.

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
The AM2 socket may not stick around forever, but for now it's the one running the AMD dual core X2 chips.
So now my socket 939 X2 doesn't exist? BUT I USE IT EVERY DAY!

X2's from 3800+ to 4800+ are on socket 939 and socket AM2. It's the 5000+ and 5200+ that are exclusive to AM2.

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
The only thing you're gonna see moving from a 64 to a 64X2 is the benifits of the dual core tech. If that appeals to you, then go for it, but you'll have to do a bit of upgrades to get there (mobo, mem).
As if "dual core tech" is something to scoff at... It's exactly the same as having two processors. Twice the workload at once. Not twice as fast.

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
If you want to stay with yer 939, and your mobo supports something bigger, the only place you can really go above the 64 servies is the FX chips...which range from $$ to arm-leg.
You're forgetting that the X2's come in the 939 package too.

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
If you want my opinion, from where you're at...unless you have the $$ for a big upgrade, stay put. Spend the money on MORE RAM and a bigger HDD. That'd be more worth your while at this point.
Yes, buy more DDR RAM because it's the industry standard still...

Oh, and get some harddrives too which cost nothing...
The General is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 09:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Anyways for the original question:

There is a dual core optimizer amd just released that is supposed to help, but its not necessary, but probably a good idea. Computer runs fine without it, but its just a download and install. easy as pie.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.