Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 10:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

I jsut upgraded my processor to an AMD Opteron 2.2Ghz Dual Core socket 939 chip. I am running windows Vista and for some reason at rest my comptuer is using 75% to 90% CPU Capacity on both cores. This did not happen on my previous single core while running vista and when i run Ubuntu my new processor is back down to 1% to 2% CPU capacity at rest. I'm not sure why this is happening but i would like some help figureing out what i can do about it. I am a HUGE gamer and having my computer acting like this is not that comforting to me. SO please can someone help me figure out whats going on and what i can do about it.

Thank You,
-Kayotic
__________________

KayoticOrigin is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Do you have any active processes occurring in the background?
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Pull up the task manager and find out which process/processes are eating all those CPU cycles. It's probably one of those junkware applications that OEMs sometimes bundle with new PCs - I'm thinking the McAfee AV or Symantec AV versions that come installed on new PCs now (pure junk - you can get free AV clients that work better and don't hog resources anyway). But whatever it is, you'll be able to see it in the task manager.
__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by dashogun View Post
Do you have any active processes occurring in the background?
Quote:
Originally Posted by CitizenCain View Post
Pull up the task manager and find out which process/processes are eating all those CPU cycles. It's probably one of those junkware applications that OEMs sometimes bundle with new PCs - I'm thinking the McAfee AV or Symantec AV versions that come installed on new PCs now (pure junk - you can get free AV clients that work better and don't hog resources anyway). But whatever it is, you'll be able to see it in the task manager.
Other then the Vista processes, no. This is a Fresh Install. I nuke my system anytime i upgrade the hardware.
KayoticOrigin is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

It would be helpful to know which particular Vista process is eating the cycles. There are some known issues with certain processes that can peg the CPU at or near 100% because they get hung... but to fix it, you have to know which particular process it is.
__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Ok all the processes i have running are...

Firefox.exe (obviously not a core process but i'm listing them all) 24,708K
dwm.exe 19,764K
explorer.exe 16,524K
ieuser.exe 4,448K
MSASCui.exe 4,120K
Sidebar.exe 3,996K
taskeng.exe 3,312K
taskmgr.exe 2,040K
winlogon.exe 1,344K
csrss.exe 1,296K

those are the processes. It says there are 37 running in total thats prob including the services. If you need my to tell you which services are running then let me know.
KayoticOrigin is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by KayoticOrigin View Post
Ok all the processes i have running are...

Firefox.exe (obviously not a core process but i'm listing them all) 24,708K
dwm.exe 19,764K
explorer.exe 16,524K
ieuser.exe 4,448K
MSASCui.exe 4,120K
Sidebar.exe 3,996K
taskeng.exe 3,312K
taskmgr.exe 2,040K
winlogon.exe 1,344K
csrss.exe 1,296K

those are the processes. It says there are 37 running in total thats prob including the services. If you need my to tell you which services are running then let me know.
That's what I'm looking for, yeah, but instead of the memory usage, sort by CPU usage (number between 00 and 99). There's almost certainly just one that's eating it all up. And make sure you tick the "show processes from all users" (or whatever that box says), because it's probably a system process that's locking up your CPU.
__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Heres a picture, I dont want to type it all.

KayoticOrigin is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Urm... the "system idle process" isn't using any processor cycles. That 78&#37; beside it is the percentage of free processor cycles you have at that point in time.

So I'm going to go ahead and say that you're not actually have the huge processor issues that you think you are.

Of course, I don't have any idea why the process manager seems to be adding the system idle process into your CPU usage, but that's not the case. If you open the "Performance" tab there, you'll see two real time graphs (one for each core, unless that's changed in Vista, I forget) graph the actual usage of your processor. Which, from the looks of things, should be at or near the bottom of the graphing box. You can then go about opening up applications and such and watch it spike up, but it looks like your Vista install is just adding idle time into processor usage, and not that it's actually using your CPU cycles.

Edit: Screenies from me.



This is what it looked like when I dropped a 2560X1028 screenshot into Paint.NET. (Oops! Kinda crunched up some cycles )



Here's the graph after my procs settled down. System Idle Process is "taking up" the other unused 98% of my cycles, but my task manager's actually displaying it properly.
__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

mcafee doesnt hog much system for me. mcafee is in background, and my pc is only at like 3%.

I dont know how, but it is setup, to only run one process, that detects everything, and if something is detected, all of MCafee goes running.
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
best dual core suske Overclocking and Modding 7 07-03-2007 08:18 PM
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.