Dual Core or higher single core? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 03:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

1. Venice and San Diego aren't the only cores that OC. They arent even the best, if you want to OC get a dual core opteron 165.

2. 7800GTX is the second best card out. Its more then good enough.

3. Well M2 will cost a lot im guessing so if you wanna spend the money get one. M2 doesnt mean SLI, There are SLI motherboards for socket 939.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 03:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

yeah, I know it doesn't mean it's SLI. I wanted to know if it could support SLI.

I've only recently heard of opteron.
__________________

__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Don't fall for the hype M2 is offering what DDR2 that isn't worth spending $50 more in my eyes yet they will be selling them $300-400 more than the rest of their selection.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 06:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

since u can afford the x2 4400+ and u want to OC
get the opteron 170, not 165 cuz 165 starts at 1.8 gigz, thas low, and 170 is ALMOST the same price as x2 4400 starting at 2gigz. so wit 2 gigz at stock you can oc even further
__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Very true but why not just OC the 4400+ it uses the same core as the FX series and can be pushed higher with sufficiant cooling.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Because the Opteron is made with higher quality silicon and can OC better?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default

rgr, thats what ive read and heard here!
but if you gots the cash to throw down for a 4400 i would go for it.. i was just on a budget and opty 165 is awesome for the price.
(l2 cache of 2 x 1mb)+(low cost)=($ for munchies )
__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 04:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nirvana89
1) Since I can't find any Venice or San Diego, would it be wise to OC it? 2) I'm thinking the 7800 GTX...is that good enough for the X2? 3) Motherboard...does everyone agree that I should wait for the m2 and is that SLI?
the X2's are actually based on the Venices and San Diego's
the dual core Opterons are similar to the AMD X2's also
they usually overclock to about 2.6-2.8GHZ, but it also depends on RAM and motherboard.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.