Dual Core Dual Opteron Socket 939 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2005, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default Dual Core Dual Opteron Socket 939

Ok,
I'm buying a computer, thats going to host some basic stuff. I was looking around NewEgg and I found the perfect thing I'm looking for, but the only problem is, is that I don't know if it's comptable with this motherboard that I already have. I've already posted on another computer forum, but no one's replied :/

Processor:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103586

Does anyone know if these will work together? I don't wanna waste my money..

--Thanks
__________________

omghax is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes it will be compatible, but may I recommend this mobo instead:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks alot!
omghax is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 06:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

newegg just got those in stock so i wouldnt buy from them cause i think they got a bad batch im going to buy somewhere else where they got 0530 twice in a row
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 07:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I doubt you're going to get 0530 now. When I got mine about a week ago, it was an 0541.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 09:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Opterons should still overclock fairly well regardless of their stepping, plus AMD are having manufacturing issues therefore they'll relax speedbinning and relabel some higher rated cores

The 165 has a better price performance ratio IMO
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.