dual coe 3.0 vs single core 3.0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2006, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default dual coe 3.0 vs single core 3.0

hey

does a dual core 3.0 GHz processor system offer twice the amount of performance that a single core 3.0 GHz offers, keeping in mind that all the other resources are not bottlenecks in anyway?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

No, it does not offer twice the amount of a single core one

But it will function x2 better than a single core one when you will multi task (Like, run a DVD Burning session and all at once playing say... FEAR, you wont be able to on a single core, but with good enough system you could with a dual core )

Also, on NONE-multi tasking / multi threading apps a single core might actualy performe better.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Dual core only delivers better performanced when one is heavily multitasking or using heavy applications/games that support dual core. If you don't multitask alot, or use applications/games that are able to utilize dual core, dual core is not for you.

Also, stay away from Pentium D
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 47
Default

I agree with what you are saying about dual and signle core but you have to keep in mind that in future evreything will be multithreaded so i think it is worthed to get a dual core it will be usefull in the near future.
Kaiser28 is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 04:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

well on my other computer, with is a dual core 3ghz, i ran superpi and it got 45seconds, my single core, 3.4ghz does it in a the same time
harry18 is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 10:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

dual cores are great. you can get far more than double performance in some instances. take the example already mentioned: gaming and encoding. if you try this with even a top of the line single core you will get rock bottom FPS (tested with a 6800gt, FX-57 and MS Flight Simulator, i think resulted in 5FPS :amazed: ) and poor encoding performance. with a dual core you will get almost full performance from both applications although a bit lower due to memory bandwidth constraints. in video encoding you will get effectively double the performance. with the price of dual cores steadily dropping i don't see any reason not to get one as the prices are far lower than buying 2 of the equivelant single cores.....thats value .

the pentium D's aren't all bad it depends on what you are using them for and your budget.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 10:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

^Finaly a guy who knows his ****!!! You guys can flame me all day long on what I say about dual vs single cores but in the end it all comes to the conclusion that a dual core would be a better solution nowdays because everyone has to multitask here and there

(In another post I said 95% the same thing as you did nitestick and all they did is two pages of flames concentrated at me..)

-Jo,
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

atleast you can still use your ram for am2/conroe if you bought a pentium D..

where i live: pentium d 940 is 100$ less then a x2 3800+.....

Im still putting a 3800+ in my other computer though....just to have one of each
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Let's see if I can dig up an old Dual Core / 64 bit thread I made.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=85059
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 03:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
dual cores are great. you can get far more than double performance in some instances. take the example already mentioned: gaming and encoding. if you try this with even a top of the line single core you will get rock bottom FPS (tested with a 6800gt, FX-57 and MS Flight Simulator, i think resulted in 5FPS ) and poor encoding performance. with a dual core you will get almost full performance from both applications although a bit lower due to memory bandwidth constraints. in video encoding you will get effectively double the performance. with the price of dual cores steadily dropping i don't see any reason not to get one as the prices are far lower than buying 2 of the equivelant single cores.....thats value .

the pentium D's aren't all bad it depends on what you are using them for and your budget.
I'm pretty confident that encoding items and the flight simulator do not support dual-core CPU's, that is, unless you were talking about doing both simultaneously, in which, a dual-core processor would surely pull ahead. As already stated, dual-core is only useful when you are doing multiple things at one time that require a lot of "juice", or using an application or game that supports dual-core processors (basically, none, hopefully more items will support it soon though). So if you are constrained money wise, a single core will suffice. However, Intel has already dropped single core CPU's altogether in there newest line of CPU's, after the Pentium series is dropped (rather soon I'd imagine, before 2008 probably), all their CPU's will be dual and quad core. So in all honesty, a dual-core CPU is probably the way to go, as it's actually hard to find a solid single core CPU that is not overly priced (FX series for example ... )
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.