Dual Channel Ram Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default Dual Channel Ram Question

How big of a performance difference is there between a gaming system that has 2x512mb value ram and one with 1gb value ram, does the dual channel totally own the 1gb? or is it a minimal difference that i won't notice....
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Well, the dual channel effectively doubles your memory bandwidth, greatly minimizing the bottleneck created by the memory controller. I would say you would see an increase in performance. It is definately worth it to buy the 2 x 512
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 01:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there is a big performance difference. i once tried my OCZ gold in single channel and then in dual channel with a run on SuperPi at 32m. i think it took 34 minutes with dual channel and 37-38 minutes with single channel. that is a significant difference seeing as i don't think SuperPi even relies very heavily on memory bandwidth
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

It'll boost performance. Not by twofold, but a big boost. On AMD 64 s939 setups, you have a theorhetical 6.4gb/s, but you really get something just above 5gb I think.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

okay...so what if i was thinking about adding another 1 Gb in the future? like somewhere near the end of this year. Should i STILL get the 2x512? or get the 1gb stick?
__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
It'll boost performance. Not by twofold, but a big boost. On AMD 64 s939 setups, you have a theorhetical 6.4gb/s, but you really get something just above 5gb I think.

Ryan
Well, it may not always give you double performance, but theoretically, it does give you double the bandwidth.


If you plan on upgrading to 2GB by buying another 1GB stick, then I would recommend buying a 1GB stick instead of the 512s.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

What does "theoretically" mean?
I heard this said a lot

But i also have a question
I have 756mb RAM (512+256)
I really dont have a lot of money,
So should i upgrade and get 1.25 gb or upgrade to 1.0 gb
Or should i b fine the way i have

Specs:
6800gs
756mb RAM
Pentium4 HT Prescott 2.8 @3.0
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

not to thread steal or anything if you do have the 2x512 sticks how do you tell they are in dual channel
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
What does "theoretically" mean?
I heard this said a lot
the "theoretical" maximum is what something could be capable of regardless of whether or not it actually reaches this speed
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 09:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SomeIranianKid
not to thread steal or anything if you do have the 2x512 sticks how do you tell they are in dual channel
It should say in CPU-Z.


Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
What does "theoretically" mean?
I heard this said a lot

But i also have a question
I have 756mb RAM (512+256)
I really dont have a lot of money,
So should i upgrade and get 1.25 gb or upgrade to 1.0 gb
Or should i b fine the way i have

Specs:
6800gs
756mb RAM
Pentium4 HT Prescott 2.8 @3.0
Put another stick of ram in that system identical to the stick of 512 you have now. Sell the 256 after. Make sure your motherboard supports dual channel ram.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

« memory | Dx10 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.