Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2007, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

According to this, the bandwidth is higher...




When I set my E6600 to 3.2GHz with 400MHz FSB x 8 Multiplier, when BIOS booted it showed PC2-5300 instead of PC2-6400. The memory was running at 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 timing, when I loosen it to 1:1 ratio for 800MHz 4-4-4-12, it was running at PC2-4200 Dual Interleave.

But when I increased the RAM to 1200MHz 6-6-6-18, it said PC2-6400 in the BIOS.

But why on that image above show that PC2-5300 in Dual Channel is capable of 10.667GB/s bandwidth?
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

cuz 5300 x 2 = 10600
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

and 6400 x 2 is 12800.

But how come on the PC2-6400 one on that spreadsheat its only 6.4GB/s in Dual or Single Channel.

So it should be 12.8GB/s then?
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
and 6400 x 2 is 12800.

But how come on the PC2-6400 one on that spreadsheat its only 6.4GB/s in Dual or Single Channel.

So it should be 12.8GB/s then?
I got no idea
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
According to this, the bandwidth is higher...




When I set my E6600 to 3.2GHz with 400MHz FSB x 8 Multiplier, when BIOS booted it showed PC2-5300 instead of PC2-6400. The memory was running at 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 timing, when I loosen it to 1:1 ratio for 800MHz 4-4-4-12, it was running at PC2-4200 Dual Interleave.

But when I increased the RAM to 1200MHz 6-6-6-18, it said PC2-6400 in the BIOS.

But why on that image above show that PC2-5300 in Dual Channel is capable of 10.667GB/s bandwidth?
well we don't know for sure.. because they didn't test the ddr2 800 on a e6n50 CPU..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
well we don't know for sure.. because they didn't test the ddr2 800 on a e6n50 CPU..
Oh, I get it, the faster the CPU the better performance on Dual Channel too right?

I think this is how it works.....

for PC2-6400..... 6400/8 = 800MHz, so for 5300 is actually 5336/8 = 667MHz

Now if you have RAM at 1000MHz, its PC2-8000 = 1000MHz. 1000MHz in Dual Interleave/Channel has a bandwidth of 16 GB/s.

And there is a PC2-10664 which they say is PC2-10000 and has a Bandwidth of 20 GB/s.

I think I get how PC2-(Value Here) and how it works now. Hehe

I think thats how it is.... The "Value Here" is the bandwidth and in dual channel its two times the "Value Here"

But it wont really become effective untill CPU's will reach the same bandwidth.

So with a CPU that has a 1066MHz FSB its Bandwidth is 8 times the FSB which is 8532 MB/s or 8.5 GB/s

So a 1333 MHz FSB will have 10667 MB/s. So for the PC2-6400 to be effective at 12.8GB/s you need to have a 1600MHz FSB on your CPU and run 1:1 ratio.

So PC2-6400 running at 800MHz and your CPU has an FSB of 1600MHz which is 400MHz FSB on the BIOS. The 1600MHz FSB is the "Effective" and on C2D and C2Q its 4 times the FSB.

So if you have say..... CPU with 400Mhz and 8 Multiplier its 3.2GHz and 1:1 FSB:RAM ratio you will get both the same CPU and Memory Bandwidth which will be 12.8 GB/s.

Wow, this Frequency and bandwidth stuff is awesome. I never knew how they figured out the bandwidth until now.

So right now, the CPU is lagging behind the Memory Technology. The memory speeds are way ahead of the CPU's. The PC2-6400 is meant to be designed and work greatly with a 1600MHz Effective FSB CPU's which is not out yet. This is without Overclocking.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 12:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaV II DARK II View Post
I got no idea
Don't post then...


Anyway, I thought Dual Channel only offerd a 5% increase?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

maybe on older ddr400 ram?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 07:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
Don't post then...


Anyway, I thought Dual Channel only offerd a 5% increase?
seriously.. i agree Vaanish.. but Mav seriously.. don't post unless you know whats going on or if you have a prediction..

and correct Pinoy... the PC2 speed is the regular speed multiplied by 8...

so taht solves that eh guys?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.