Dual Channel DDR vs Standard. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default Dual Channel DDR vs Standard.

I was wondering what the actual performance difference is between DUAL channel DDR and 2 sticks of standard ddr?

My board doesnt support dual channel, but i've been thinking of upgrading. Or just buy 2 1GB PC3200 and throw them in my Soyo p4vtp.

I dont overclock my system at all and im not a HARDCORE gamer. I turn gfx on max when i first get the game, but afterwards turn to medium to get more FPS. In Counter Strike's Stress test i get 62fps. My friend has similar setup and got 65fps , but just recently got a WD Raptor 10Krpm HD , and his fps jumped to 95.

My system:

Soyo P4VTP PT800
768mb PC2100 (another reason i want to upgrade)
BFG GeForce 6600 GT OC 128mb 525mhz/1050mhz

I was looking to spend about $300 on a MB combo on ram. I know that only if im overclocking do i really need to best brands of ram and im not going to OC.
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

there's no such thing as dual channel ram. Your processor supports the ram to run in dual channel. Two identical sticks of standard DDR ram will run in dual channel with the right processor.

Get a good stick of valueram and you'll be pleased. What's your processor? I think it may be safe to assume it's socket A or possibly socket 754, but I'm leaning towards A. (socket 478 preHT technology if running a pentium) So dual channel isn't going to happen unless you upgrade your processor too.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 12:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

ok i'll get some valueram..1 stick now depending on price maybe 2. and my MB is socket 478... i take it i should upgrade that too. Whats a good board..with AGP not PCI-E ..dont feel like spending another $250 to replace my card.

how is your AMD 64bit working for ya?
badkitty is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I think the AMD Athlon 64 series are probably the most popular processor here on the forum. It's awesome! I OC'ed mine to 2.25ghz with stock cooling, zero errors in prime95 and run at about 30-32*C idling. Socket 478 isn't completely backwards yet. Actually, if the price was right, I would consider upgrading what you currently have until it does begin to 'fall behind.' Right now it's still current!

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Ya they are, alot of people seem to have them. I have a 3800+ dual core right now that im very pleased with. But if I was just getting into AMDs or chose a different CPU I would of bought an AMD FX seeries cpu.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

how is this for $200

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
badkitty is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 04:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

eh, this is me being cheap, but here goes...
I bought the 3000+ because of it's overclockability to the 3500+ range. Now, that's a good overclocking processor. So, I dunno what I'm trying to say. The one I chose is substantially cheaper, and it's running at slightly over 3500+ speeds. (I think I just figured out what I'm trying to say.) If you're looking at processors because you think 3500+ speeds are about what you want, then get the same processor I have. I have stock cooling and hardly raised the voltage. If you're looking to make the thing run as fast as possible, go ahead and get the 3500+ and overclock it. Then it'll spank mine.

Hope I helped more than I hurt.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 06:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

i lurve my 3200 winni runs perfectly stable at 2.7ghz on stock air in a case with only 2 fans . it plays any game i can want. at stock speeds it is normally 26 idle 29 load. (bad day like today 32 load

na man if u want the fastest possible then get a 3000+ and make sure its a week 13 :P they rocked some people got 3ghz stock air on them
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.