DS3R NB heatsink is loose? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2007, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

My NB heatsink feels loose. If I put minimal presure on either end it tilts, and I can wiggle it. Anyone have similar experience? Or should I check something. I heard something make a noise, but I think it was the I/O panel. None of the white plastic pins appear to be broken.
__________________

muckluck is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

I could not get my DS3R northbridge back on originally (I sent it back for defect anyway) The pins go in but they don't click right....its really hard to put back on the NB I noticed.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

Did it stay on and was just loose? Or did it not stay on at all? My northbridge heatsink is on, it doesn't move up when I try to lift it. It just wiggles and tilts.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

I just got my DS3R today, and I was thinking of replacing the thermal paste on the NB, with MX-1....now I'm not sure. Hopefully it will go back on easily.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

I don't see how. They just use cheap plastic pins.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I just got my DS3R today, and I was thinking of replacing the thermal paste on the NB, with MX-1....now I'm not sure. Hopefully it will go back on easily.
sweetness man.... so did u get the q6600 and everything else yet? i wanna see how much u can push a q6600 w/ that ds3r.....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

My Q6600 G0 will ship this week, hopefully getting it by next week.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 11:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

I think I figured it out. When I was dry fitting it (new toy, had to take it out) I pushed on the HS a little and broke the bond between the theraml paste and the HS. I just took it out again and it was solid, put after a little nudge it broke loose again. So I think it's not an issue. Although I am considering after market northbridge HS now.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

Oh, and Gigabyte better keep this Durable thing going. The board components even look better buit. Real high quality stuff.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 01:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: DS3R NB heatsink is loose?

b1gapl do you have that 120-extreme yet?
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems after Installing new CPU heatsink and Arctic Silver 5 schwarg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-25-2007 08:43 PM
HSF/Water Block Purpose synergy Overclocking and Modding 4 08-06-2007 08:21 PM
What should i be getting ? Oreo Overclocking and Modding 21 07-19-2007 09:11 AM
Got the DS3R today and heres a very quick review Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 61 07-16-2007 11:21 PM
Suggesstions on Heatsink for CPU. chris0201987 Overclocking and Modding 23 05-30-2007 06:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.