DS3 or P5B-E Plus? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default DS3 or P5B-E Plus?

I got screwed by the guy I ordered parts from so monday I am getting the parts from someone else. I have to get a new mobo and memory. I can get a P5B-E Plus here: http://c1com.co.nz/shop/step1.php?number=9889

Or the DS3 here:
http://www.ascent.co.nz/ProductSpeci...?ItemID=348405

Which board would you all prefer? I don't know enough about them so as always.. come here.

Oh yeah and the memory I am getting is
http://c1com.co.nz/shop/step1.php?number=8609

Cheers
__________________

NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

They're both supposedly the best at overclocking Core 2 Duos. I hear more about the the DS3. As long as you update the BIOS to the latest, all should be good.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 03:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Yeah, the DS3 and the P5B-E are both the best in their particular price range, but the P5B-E wins in a direct comparison. The reason I keep bringing that up is because there was a direct comparison of the two on [H]Forums. I was on the DS3's side in the beginning, but after learning more about the P5B-E, it is clearly the better of the two.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

Both the DS3 and the P5B-E are both the best in their price range. If your looking to save a few $, go with the DS3, if your no concerned about cost, go with the P5B-E.

My experience with the DS3 has been great, no issues. I have also heard great things about the P5B-E, like higher OCs!!
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

I'd say to go w/ the DS3 (though I'm slightly biased cuz I have one) because it's cheaper and they're pretty compariable.

The only problem I had with my DS3 was that I couldn't figure out how to update BIOS (I didn't have a floppy drive) but it was really easy once I figured it out. The problem I had was that the mobo wouldn't let me OC past DDR2-667 until I updated BIOS...now I can get my ram up to DDR2-900 easily and probably into the DDR2-1000 area.

As a side-note, I hope that you're not from the USA because those prices would not stand here (very expensive). I would recommend the ram in my sig over the ram you have if you want to have a really nice OC. They're pretty much the same if you don't use them to run at DDR2-900 or higher though.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 02:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Those are New Zealand prices.
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 05:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Ooh, I didn't notice that this was the ASUS P5B-E Plus. Its only sold outside the United States, and is even better than the regular P5B-E.

Plain and Simple; The P5B-E [Plus] is the better motherboard. If the price of the motherboard is really such a big factor, then go with the DS3, but if you can at all afford the P5B-E, then go with that, it is the better motherboards. Since I own neither, atleast I can be objective about this. >_<
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 06:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

I have a DS3. I doubt I can provide as much info as others since I'm not a heavy OCer (yet), but it is rock solid and has never given me a problem.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default

Well I put together my system last night with the DS3 and the E6400 with the Twinx DDR2 GSkill RAM and nothing happened. I sent it in to get diagnosed and they think the board or proc is no good. Not a good first impression to me... I want to cry about it, but that would look funny a big mean man crying about a computer.

Anyways, should have it back and running tomorrow. Everything is under warranty so getting it repaired for nothing. We shall see...
NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 11:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default

Found out my mobo was dead today. I thought it a bit dodgy from this guy to begin with. The mobo came and when I installed it I noticed in the middle it said S3 instead of DS3. But it was in the DS3 box looking unopened. I went online and evey pic I saw of themotherboard it said DS3 in the middle not S3.

So when the guy called and told me the board was dead he offered to put in a DS3 Pro. My question being that if I don't plan on using the SLI on the pro will that inhibit preformance at all? Or does it matter... and how much better is the motherboard?

Cheers
__________________

NZ-Disciple is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.