DS3 Motherboard Situation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2007, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Exclamation DS3 Motherboard Situation

Hello,

I've come across a certain situation which requires experienced help. My friend recently purchased all the necessary components to build himself a high powered gaming rig. However, because it was his first build, he overlooked the importance of using the provided standoffs. As a result, the board caught fire. Right now it looks as if one small chip is destroyed but the rest looks fine. Here are some photos I took earlier.
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/2...ture001on6.jpg
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/8...ture003dv4.jpg

So is the motherboard pretty much done for? My friend has a warranty so he can easily send it back and get a new one.
__________________

PaperNapkin is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

Yeah, I'd send it back.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

Send it back, other board components may be affected.
The warranty would cover user-damage? It wasn't the boards fault it pooped out. Didn't the case of MB come with standoffs? Also, check to make sure the PSU isn't affected.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

i see no issues really, but u might wanna RMA' it and make up an excuse or something......
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

Tell them the PSU did it lol.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation


^Hey while you're at it can you rma this card for me too...?^

People that do these kinds of things shouldn't be allowed to build computers.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 04:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaperNapkin View Post
Hello,

I've come across a certain situation which requires experienced help. My friend recently purchased all the necessary components to build himself a high powered gaming rig. However, because it was his first build, he overlooked the importance of using the provided standoffs. As a result, the board caught fire. Right now it looks as if one small chip is destroyed but the rest looks fine. Here are some photos I took earlier.
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/2...ture001on6.jpg
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/8...ture003dv4.jpg

So is the motherboard pretty much done for? My friend has a warranty so he can easily send it back and get a new one.
LMFAO^ i love that story.
um, yeah....
i dont think that any warranty covers being an idiot. as some redneck comedian says, "...you cant fix stupid". but your friend could try to make something up like.....ummmm...yeah.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 05:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

i think your goin to have to buy a new mobo
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 05:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

the warranty wouldnt cover user dmage like u said would it?
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 10:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: DS3 Motherboard Situation

try take it back if they dont by a new one
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ram failure? or motherboard fried? adamussg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-07-2007 06:13 PM
Intermittent Motherboard -- Bad Capacitor? edvosder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-28-2007 09:52 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM
Suggestions about a motherboard...please siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-25-2007 12:22 AM
Which motherboard? sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-20-2007 12:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.