DrumnBassBBoy's Official 1st Computer Build Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrumnBassBBoy

Baseband Member
Alright, this will be my official computer build thread. Currently, I am working on my FIRST computer build, so bare with me. On Wednesday or Thursday of this week, I will be ordering the rest of my parts list that has not been ordered. I wanted to get some opinions and tips on the build and preference on parts I have selected.

Goal of the machine is for high level of multitasking: Microsoft Visual Studio, Eclipse, Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Web Browsing, Video Playing, Music Playing, and some video game playing (Possibly SC2 and D3). I am looking to over clock the machine to 4.0Ghz - 4.5Ghz. I am a developer and am tired of off the shelf machines.

Parts list for the build:
Motherboard - Asus Rampage III Extreme
Processor - Intel Core i7-930
Memory - Mushkin Redline 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 2000 SDRAM
Video Card – Asus ENGTX470
Hard Drive - WD SiliconEdge Blue SSD / 64GB
Hard Drive - WD Blue HD / 80GB (Purchased)
Rom Drive - LG DVD Burner / GH24NS50
CPU Fan - Cooler Master V8 (Purchased)
Case Fan - Cooler Master Excalibur 120mm
Cord - CAT 6 550MHz UTP 7FT Cable / Red – 2304
Monitor Cord - 6FT Mini-HDMI (Type C) to HDMI (Type A) – 3645
Monitor - LG W2286 Flatron LED LCD
Monitor - LG W2286 Flatron LED LCD (Purchased)
Monitor - LG W2286 Flatron LED LCD (Purchased)
Power Supply - Corsair HX1000W (Purchased)
Computer Case - Corsair Obsidian 800D (Purchased)

Constructive Criticism Is Welcomed! :smile:

even if you dont want to run eyefintiny, i would recommended a 5870 or a 5850. 5870 is better, but a 5850 is still a beastly card.